Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Quotes from Books I Read in the Past Year

Well, it’s Tuesday and that means it’s time for another Top Ten. I really like this week’s topic, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish: top ten quotes you love from books you’ve read in the last year or so. I’ve been reading so many good books, so this is actually going to be kind of tough, but here goes!

ONE

“Hazel kissed boys for all kinds of reasons – because they were cute, because she was a little drunk, because she was bored, because they let her, because it was fun, because they looked lonely, because it blotted out her fears for awhile, because she wasn’t sure how many kisses she had left. But she’d kissed only one boy who really belonged to someone else, and under no circumstances would she ever do it again.”
Holly Black The Darkest Part of the Forest

TWO

“The universe, I’d learned, was never, ever kidding. It would take what it wanted and it would never give it back.”
Cheryl Strayed Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail

THREE

“She’d spoken of happiness as though it were an undeniable fact, no matter what happened – apart from everything else and not subject to it. It was a new idea for him, that happiness wasn’t a mystical place to be reached or won – some bright terrain beyond the boundary of misery, a paradise waiting for them to find it – but something to carry doggedly with you through everything, as humble and ordinary as your gear and supplies. Food, weapons, happiness.”
Laini Taylor Dreams of Gods and Monsters

FOUR

“I wondered what that was like, to hold someone’s hand. I bet you could sometimes find all the mysteries of the universe in someone’s hand.”
Benjamin Alire Sáenz Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

FIVE

“Who has never killed an hour? Not casually or without thought, but carefully: a premeditated murder of minutes. The violence comes from a combination of giving up, not caring, and a resignation that getting past it is all you can accomplish. So you kill the hour. You do not work, you do not read, you do not daydream. If you sleep it is not because you need sleep. And when at last it is over, there is no evidence: no weapon, no blood, and no body. The only clue might be the shadows beneath your eyes or a terribly thin line near the corner of your mouth indicating something has been suffered, that in the privacy of your life you have lost something and the loss is too empty to share.”
Mark Z. Danielewski House of Leaves

SIX

“You had to be still to feel pain, and Anna never stopped moving.”
Lisa Lutz How to Start a Fire

SEVEN

“Love sometimes requires a willingness to indulge in unreasonable requests[.]”
Jacob M. Appel Einstein’s Beach House

EIGHT

“Oh, but you must travel through the woods again and again…and you must be lucky to avoid the wolf every time…But the WOLF…the WOLF only needs enough luck to find you ONCE.”
Emily Carroll Through the Woods

NINE

“If a hiker gets lost in the mountains, people will coordinate a search. If a train crashes, people will line up to give blood. If an earthquake levels a city, people all over the world will send emergency supplies. This is so fundamentally human that it’s found in every culture without exception. Yes, there are assholes who just don’t care, but they’re massively outnumbered by the people who do.”
Andy Weir The Martian

TEN

“’This must be Thursday,’ said Arthur to himself, sinking low over his beer. ‘I never could get the hang of Thursdays.’”
Douglas Adams The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

Oh my goodness, it was so hard to pick which quotes to pull from each book; they all have so many I love! It was even harder to choose which books to pull quotes from. I’ve read 86 books this year and, according to Goodreads, have given a 4-star average to them all. So, as you can see, I’ve been reading marvelous books, and it has caused me to have the exact opposite struggle as I usually do on Tuesdays.

What are some of your favorite quotes? Leave your link in the comments so I can read your Top Ten Tuesdays!

Please feel free, as always, to add/follow/chat with me on the following platforms:TumblrGoodreadsInstagramFacebook. Also, check out my (new-projects-are-in-the-works-seriously) Etsy Shop, which I also made a Facebook page for where you can keep up with new and current postings. Check it out here. And, if you want to add me on Snapchat my username is Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Quotes from Books I Read in the Past Year

  1. Several favorites of mine on here–H2G2, House of Leaves, and The Martian–but none of them I read this year, so they didn’t make the list. I’m going to introduce my book club to The Guide next year, and I’m excited about that!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. All your choices are either on my started reading or TBR list. The only book I’ve finished is Hitchhiker’s Guide, which is fitting because I can’t get the hang of Thursdays either. Thursdays are worse than Mondays for me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

