Mash-Up Monday – The Harry Potter Tag

It’s Monday and that means it’s time for a mash-up! This week I’m responding to The Harry Potter Tag which the lovely Summer over @xingsings tagged me to do forever ago. So, I’m finally getting around to this one.

As most of you already know, Harry Potter is basically my life. I’ve read the books so many times it’s almost embarrassing. You’ve probably also known how often the books and characters creep into my Top Ten Tuesday posts and Tags, so it’s no surprise that I’m excited to do this tag.

Screen Shot 2015-11-16 at 11.57.04 AM

If I could put this on my resume as a legit skill, I would, because it’s true. So, so true. You can’t remember a fact about Harry Potter? Come to me because I was literally just reading it this morning. (I wish I were kidding.)

So, anyway, moving on from my embarrassing amount of Harry Potter knowledge to the tag. Let’s do this.

Favorite Book?

It’s a toss-up between The Philosopher’s Stone and The Deathly Hallows. It’s so hard to choose because like how could I ever forget the first time I read that first book (and got in trouble at school, since Harry Potter was banned at the Lutheran elementary school I went to – didn’t stop me), yet the final book is such a good and powerful wrap-up. Ahhh! Please don’t make me choose :O

Favorite Movie?

This one is easily The Sorcerer’s Stone. I thought it was so well done and stuck so close to the book. Plus, it was the first one, and I remember so clearly being 10 and sitting in that theater like on the verge of tears because I was so happy I was going to see it. I still like the movie so much today and it’s the only one I can recite from start to finish. Woops. (I’m pretty good with the second one too.)

Least Favorite Book?

This one is Order of the Phoenix for me. It’s not that I don’t enjoy it or anything silly like that, and it’s not because Sirius dies. It’s the slowest development, for me, out of all the books. I used to really not like it when I was younger, before I understood the concept of PTSD and what Harry was going through. But, as I got older, I’ve started to appreciate the book more and more each time I read it. So, it’s my least favorite, but no less important than the other books.

Parts of the books/movies that make you cry?

There. Are. So. Many. All the deaths: Dobby, Sirius, Fred, Lupin, Tonks, the list goes on, sometimes even Dumbledore if I’m feeling emotional. The opening line of the first book as I read it for the 13th time since I’m no longer innocent and know what’s coming. Harry and Lupin’s fight in the 7th book. Neville’s speech to Voldemort in the last book.
The ending of the 5th book. “What’s coming will come and we’ll meet it when it does.” (wrote that from memory.)
So, so many more parts. Everything makes me cry. Just thinking about Harry Potter makes me cry.

Favorite Character?

I. Literally. Can’t. Choose. I love everyone. Even some of the badies!

What would your Patronus be?

A penguin. I love them. It’s only natural one would be my defense again the Dementors.

If you could have the Resurrection Stone, the Invisibility Cloak, or the Elder Wand, which would you choose?

The Invisibility Cloak. The other ones are too dangerous, too powerful for my liking.

What House would you be in?

I’m a Ravenclaw. Took the official quiz on Pottermore and everything – even though I knew before I took the quiz. Honestly, though, Hufflepuff was a very close second.

If you could meet any member of the cast, who would it be?

Rupert Grint. I love that kid. He’s adorable and funny and bought a freaking ice cream truck. Fascinating.

If you were on the quidditch team, what position would you play?

Seeker. Easy.

Were you happy with the ending?

I could have done without the epilogue. I thought it was kind of unnecessary and cheesy, but I was already in way too deep when the final book came out, so I had no choice but to love it. But I mean, come on, Albus Severus Potter. That didn’t need to happen. What were you thinking J.K.? Okay, I’m done being mean KBYE.

How much does Harry Potter mean to you?

Oh god. The limit does not exist. It’s such a huge part of my life. I would be lost without it. It taught me so much growing up and honestly had such a insurmountable influence on who I am today. It taught me so much about friendship, being yourself, good and evil, and tolerance; it brought me so far. I might start crying right now just thinking about what a significant part of my life it continues to be.

Wow, okay, I’m done ranting about Harry Potter now. I so don’t blame you if you just skimmed this post, because I talked so much. I get carried away when Harry Potter is brought up. What does the series mean to you?

I Tag

I’ve noticed that so many bloggers have already done this tag (especially since I’m so late to get this one done!), so I’m not going to formally tag anyone.
But, I tag anyone and everyone who hasn’t done this and wants to!
So, if you want to do this, go do it. I just tagged you, you know 🙂

Coming Tomorrow: Top Ten Tuesday

Please feel free, as always, to add/follow/chat with me on the following platforms:TumblrGoodreadsInstagramFacebook. Also, check out my (new-projects-are-in-the-works-seriously) Etsy Shop, which I also made a Facebook page for where you can keep up with new and current postings. Check it out here. And, if you want to add me on Snapchat my username is Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

7 thoughts on “Mash-Up Monday – The Harry Potter Tag

  1. Great answers! I’m also a Ravenclaw and I agree 100% about the epilogue at the end of “The Deathly Hallows”, I would have been content with just having it end with them when they were young. I think everyone’s least favorite book was “The Order of the Phoenix” as well, I don’t think anyone’s ever answered with a different book, haha! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks! Yea, the epilogue just seemed excessive. I didn’t need it haha. Yea, the 5th book is just so slow going. I think that’s why it’s my least favorite. At least I’m not alone haha. Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for participating, Ashley! How cool! I don’t know many people that would be housed in Ravenclaw! Only after taking the Pottermore test did I realize I was meant to be housed in Hufflepuff. I’ve been telling everyone Gryffindor since elementary school-I didn’t know there was a test until I started blogging, haha. And haha, everyone loves Rupert! XD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for tagging me 🙂 Yea, I’ve always felt like a Ravenclaw, but I refrained from officially declaring it. I didn’t take the test until last year! hahah. So you’re not the only one that was behind on that. Thanks for reading 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

