Deadpool Volume 1: Dead Presidents by Brian Posehn, Gerry Duggan, and Tony Moore

4/5 Stars

As promised, I’m reviewing a Deadpool comic today. I was surprised to have found a copy of this at my Library. It’s pretty small and doesn’t usually have a lot to choose from. I think part of this, though, is that books are constantly in circulation. So, I got lucky and got to read this comic for free. I’m pretty happy that I didn’t spend money on this one. It’s not that I didn’t like it, it’s just that it wasn’t my favorite. But, I’ll get into why that is in just a moment. For now, here a short synopsis of what Deadpool gets himself into in this story.

In this comic, Deadpool finds himself facing all the previous dead presidents of the United States. He is called in by SHIELD because they don’t want to send the Avengers out to kill zombie presidents – It might look bad to the public. So, who else is there to call in but the most questionable super hero that exists? Deadpool finds himself faced with some pretty tough challenges, having to kill the undead and all. If that warlock had never brought them back to “fix” America, this never would have happened. Will Deadpool succeed? Will he live to eat his next meal? Might he even make a friend?

deadpoolvol1

*click the photo to be redirected to the book’s Goodreads page*

Now, to get to that part of why this wasn’t my favorite Deadpool comic. I’m actually really glad I didn’t start with this comic when it came to Deadpool. I wouldn’t have been as impressed if I had. It’s not that this was in any way bad. I just didn’t like it as much as the other two I’ve read.

The story in this one was solid, and I enjoyed it. There were no plot holes and the pacing was really good. I enjoyed the idea of the presidents coming back to life and Deadpool having to kill them off again because the Avengers aren’t allowed to. It was a fun story and I really liked all the characters.

There was good character development that tied in well with the story. I really liked the agent who was set to watch over Deadpool and make sure that he was getting the job done. She was a great character. Although, her ending made me sad, but then I laughed because what actually happens in ridiculous in all the best ways.

My favorite scene in this is the zoo issue. I think that one really made this comic start to turn more towards a 4-star rating versus a 3. I felt like I should have actually rated this book at like a 3.5, but the writers did have me laughing pretty hard during some parts, and I feel like those scenes redeemed the comic a bit for me. By the end I was pretty satisfied with my 4-star rating. Also, that Princess Bride reference completely sold me.

Just one more warning to say before I wrap up this review. Be prepared: This comic features a lot of gore. If that’s not your thing, you probably won’t like this comic. (It has even more than the other two Deadpool comics I’ve read.)

Overall, I would definitely still recommend this comic. I did overall really enjoy it, even if it’s one I’m glad I didn’t buy. I don’t know if it’s one I’m dying to re-read like the others, but I still think it’s worth your time to flip through this witty comic.

Get your copy from Book Depository here for $11.36.

Coming up Tomorrow: Review of Black Widow Volume 1: The Finely Woven Thread

Please feel free, as always, to add/follow/chat with me on the following platforms:TumblrGoodreadsInstagramFacebook. Also, check out my (I-swear-new-stuff-is-coming) Etsy Shop, which I also made a Facebook page for where you can keep up with new and current postings. Check it out here. And, if you want to add me on Snapchat my username is Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

One thought on “Deadpool Volume 1: Dead Presidents by Brian Posehn, Gerry Duggan, and Tony Moore

Leave a Reply

