Ms. Marvel Volume 1: No Normal by G. Willow Wilson and Adrian Alhpona

5/5 Stars

Well, it’s that time again for the last post of the week. And, I’m going out with a super positive review. I was so excited when I came across this book at the Library. How could I not be? My Library is very small, so it’s hard to find a lot of popular comic books there, meaning I knew I had to snatch this one up as soon as I saw it. It was the best choice.

In this story, Kamala Khan, a muslim girl living with her family in Jersey City is gifted some new super awesome, super cool super powers. Like any teenager, she is struggling to find her place in the world and discover who she is. This has been especially hard for her given her ethnicity and family background while growing up in Jersey. Kamala likes to stay in, read her comics, and keep a low profile. This also has a lot to do with her parents rules. One of the biggest rules is no parties. But, she decides to sneak out to a party one night. One party can’t hurt, right? What Kamala really wants more than anything is to be like Captain Marvel of the Avengers. She thinks looking and being like Captain Marvel will solve all her problems. But, when Captain Marvel bestows a gift on her to be able to stretch and morph into anyone, does it really make Kamala’s life easier? Or, will she find out that she still has to struggle with finding herself and her place in the world?

msmarvel

*click the image to be redirected to Goodreads*

I am so glad that I finally read this comic. I loved it so much. The story was great. The characters were awesome. The plot was enticing. The writing was beautiful. The illustrations were brilliant. 

This book was filled to the brim with tension. It had me on the edge of my seat waiting to find out what was going to happen next. I was constantly intrigued and trying to figure out what was going to happen as I flipped page after page. Wilson does a brilliant job of writing with both tenderness and intensity. There are moments where you can’t help but feel for Kamala and the struggles she has been and is dealing with. Still, we also can’t help but see her as a strong character that is capable of fighting evil and is slowly establishing herself in the super hero world.

What this means is that Kamala is a wonderfully multi-dimensional character that is capable of feeling fear, anger, sadness, and bravery, usually all at the same time. She knows what she’s getting into and she doesn’t always think things through, but she rises to the challenges placed in front of her regardless of her flaws. She also makes mistakes. I like that about her. She makes mistakes, learns from them, and then makes more mistakes. Her character feels so real.

Not only did Kamala’s character feel real, but the rest of them did as well. Each had their own personality, which can sometimes be hard to establish in a comic series, since there is not much room for many words. But, that’s where the illustrator comes in. And, Alphona does a magnificent job of making Wilson’s words come to life. The pictures were beautifully drawn and make the plot and characters even more enjoyable. This duo writer and artist make a perfect pairing and put together a most wonderful story.

This story was overall so enjoyable. I loved the cast. I loved the plot. I loved the writing and the artwork. I loved everything about this. I highly recommend it to anyone who likes comics or is looking for a good story that is diverse and wonderful. I cannot wait to read the rest of the installments in this series. They are high on my to-read list!

Also:

This needs to be made into a movie (are you listening Marvel?)!

Get your copy at Book Depository here for $12.94.

That’s it for me for the week. I will be christening my new Barnes & Noble credit card this weekend, so it looks like I should have a good one. I hope all you lovely people have fantastic weekends as well! I’ll be back Sunday with my weekly review.

Please feel free, as always, to add/follow/chat with me on the following platforms:TumblrGoodreadsInstagramFacebook. Also, check out my (I’m-almost-finished-with-some-new-projects) Etsy Shop, which I also made a Facebook page for where you can keep up with new and current postings. Check it out here. And, if you want to add me on Snapchat my username is Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

3 thoughts on “Ms. Marvel Volume 1: No Normal by G. Willow Wilson and Adrian Alhpona

    1. I feel the same! I keep hoping to find it at the Library, but if they continue to not have it, I might have to order it or something haha!

      Like

Leave a Reply

