Top Ten Tuesday – Halloween Freebie

A Halloween-themed Top Ten Tuesday? Yay! Today’s topic hosted by The Broke and the Bookish is wide open as long as it’s Halloween themed. But, even though this involves some creativity, it didn’t take me more than a few seconds to decide what I wanted to write about. Since it’s Halloween, I have an excuse to talk about some of my favorite horror books.

(Almost half are Stephen King; I’m not sorry.)

So, here’s a mix of short and long stories that are perfect for the Spooky Halloween Spirit.

*click each photo to be redirected to the book’s Goodreads page*

This week’s choices are (actually) listed in order of how much I like them with my favorite listed first and so on down the line.

ONE

scarystoriestreasury

As you’ve probably noticed, I’ve mentioned this a few times before. This is my favorite compilation of short horror/urban legends. This is a combination of all 3 Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark books, and it is, in fact, the copy that I’ve owned since 5th grade. This book has such a soft spot in my heart. I grew up with it. Don’t judge it too harshly if you haven’t.

TWO

telltaleheart

Of course an Edgar Allan Poe story had to grace this list. I picked “The Tell-Tale Heart” because it’s the first Edgar Allan Poe story I ever read (in 7th grade English class), subsequently making it my favorite. I love this story. It’s intense, well written, and terrifying. A must read for horror lovers.

THREE

petsamatary

This is my favorite Stephen King book. It’s eerie, enticing, and will most definitely scare you this Halloween (or any time of the year). This is actually one of the only Stephen King book-to-movie-adaptations that I actually really like. So, treat yourself this Halloween and read the book then watch the movie!

FOUR

theshinning(dontwanttogetsuednow)

Introducing…My second favorite Stephen King Novel. This is such a fantastic read. There is so much going on that will really have this book getting inside your head and scaring the living daylights out of you (whatever that phrase actually means). If you like the adaptation with Jack Nicholson (let’s face it, it’s iconic), then you have to read the book. To say they adapted this one liberally would be an understatement. The book is so much better! (obviously)

FIVE

cell

Of course this one had to make the list; it has zombies! Stephen King and zombies? A perfect pairing. This one is said to have gotten signed for a movie, but I haven’t heard anything past that, and that was awhile ago. I hope it is still in the works, because I would love to see this one adapted to the big screen.

SIX

house of leaves

A monster of a book just to look at, this read is definitely perfect for the Halloween season. It’s one of those scares that sneaks up on you. You’re reading for a few hours, losing track of time and space. Then, you stop, stand up, and the horror slowly starts to creep into your bones giving you the chills. This book will stay with you long after you finish.

SEVEN

sleepyhollow

It took me 23 years to finally read this short story (even though I’ve seen it adapted on the screen so many times and in so many different ways). I was worried that I would ultimately be disappointed with this since it’s been done and overdone so many times, but I actually loved this short story, finding it different and more unique than any of the adaptations I’ve seen. I’m so happy the original story we’ve based so much pop culture on turned out to be a great read in itself.

EIGHT

dangerousgame

This is one of my favorite short stories. A hunter playing the most dangerous game – hunting humans on a private island. I’m sure you’ve seen this story referenced in plenty of things, and, if those mentions have intrigued you, I recommend you read the original story this Halloween.

NINE

cujo

I loved this book, although it was really hard to read, since you actually get to read some sections from Cujo’s perspective. Having to read the POV from the dog that’s slowly going rabid makes this not only a horror read but also a heartbreaking one. Still, it’s perfect for Halloween. (Stephen King is always perfect for Halloween.)

TEN

dracula

And, what would this post be without a horror classic? How could I not include the original vampire story (okay, maybe not the original, but the most well-known original. It’s not a huge favorite of mine, but a favorite enough that I wanted to include it in my list. Plus, I’m a bit partial to it. I did a huge independent project on this book in grade 12.

Well, that was super awesome. I love horror, and it was so fun to talk about some of my favorites (even if they have been listed in other Top Ten Tuesdays before). What did you do for your Top Ten Tuesdays? Put your link in the comments so I can read all about them!

Please feel free, as always, to add/follow/chat with me on the following platforms:TumblrGoodreadsInstagramFacebook. Also, check out my (I’m-almost-finished-with-some-new-projects) Etsy Shop, which I also made a Facebook page for where you can keep up with new and current postings. Check it out here. And, if you want to add me on Snapchat my username is Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Halloween Freebie

  1. I’ve started to read House of Leaves about 3 times now. I really want to commit to reading it and actually finish it. I haven’t read any Stephen King either, which is sad.

    Like

    1. I don’t blame you. House of Leaves can be so hard to get into. It’s so complex and there’s a lot going on. Plus, it can be such an information overload. It’s one you definitely have to commit to.
      Stephen King isn’t for everyone. His work can be kind of tough to get into too, especially because his books are definitely not quick reads. Every time I pick up a King book I think, “Oh, this will be easy and quick!” But it always takes way more time than I think it will, haha.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yea, I can’t believe my elementary school library had them and let me check them out when I was in 3rd grade! What a crazy concept haha.
      Poe is definitely awesome. I love all his works 🙂

      Like

  2. You can’t be sorry on the Stephen King front – he is the king of horror. I would add “It” to this list. OMG that novel freaked me out. “The Shining” is a great one too.

    Fun Halloween list!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t read “It” yet! I need to get around to it. I have a copy at home. I keep meaning to binge on some Stephen King (I was going to in honor of October and Halloween), but there’s just so much to read and so little time. I will get around to it someday!
      Thanks for reading! Glad you liked my list 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

