Mashup Monday – Mentioned Me: Mid-Year Freak Out Book Tag

Okay, I’ve come up with yet a new name for my Monday posts. Mash-up Monday, since I usually have no idea what I’m writing about on Mondays anyway. I figure this way I can write about whatever I’m feeling most passionate about. This new concept of Monday posts will give me the opportunity to talk about things that I want to talk about, sometimes even if they’re not book related. However, I think I will be overall keeping Mondays book-themed.

So, today, for my first Mash-Up, I’m responding to a tag that I was tagged in forever ago. I was tagged in the Mid-Year Freak Out book tag months ago by Erika @erikainbookventureland, @travellinginmybookcase, and Trisha Ann @thebookgasm. Thank you all so much!

Now, I know it’s way past mid-year, but I’m finally getting around to this, and since the year isn’t over yet, I’m still going to do this. However, I know it can take a super long time to get around to these tags and the year is quickly drawing to a close, so I’m not going to tag anyone in this post. But, if you see this and want to participate, you can totally say I tagged you!

Now, on with the tag (that is only a few months too late).

Best book you’ve read so far in 2015?

IMG_1731

It was honestly so hard to pick between this one and Nimona by Noelle Stevenson (but that book makes an appearance a little later, so I don’t feel too bad). I loved this book so much and haven’t stopped thinking about it since I finished it almost 2 months ago! It was so good. Literally perfect. Not one single complaint.

Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2015?

IMG_1732

I actually haven’t read that many sequels this year (unless you count The Walking Dead comics). So, out of the 3 that I read, Dreams of Gods and Monsters (the third and final installment in The Daughter of Smoke of Bone trilogy) was my favorite. It was so good and so hard to say goodbye.

New release you haven’t read yet, but want to?

IMG_1733

Okay, so I’ve obviously read Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone like a million times already, but, I haven’t read the new illustrated edition. I’ve glance through it, but I definitely need to actually reread Harry Potter’s first year at Hogwarts to immerse myself in the beautiful illustrations this book has to offer.

Most anticipated release for the rest of the year?

Honestly, I don’t really keep up with new releases and what not. I just see everything in the internet book world when it finally does come out. So, I’m not currently dying to get my hands on anything.

Biggest disappointment so far in 2015?

Screen Shot 2015-10-26 at 6.16.46 PM

I was so excited when I found this one at the library, but so not excited when I was bored by page 30. This book has been on my TBR so long that I had already formed a pre-attachment to it. So, it was terrible to find out this book was such a huge let down. Hands down biggest disappointment of the year so far.

Biggest surprise so far in 2015?

IMG_1658

I was really hoping this wasn’t going to be a let down with all the hype it was receiving, and it most definitely wasn’t. This was another favorite read of the year so far. I was completely surprised and caught off guard with how good this book was. I loved every word of it.

Favorite new author (debut or new to you) of 2015?

Andy Weir and Noelle Stevenson. It makes sense, since their books were my favorites of the year so far. I can’t wait for more books by them!

New Fictional Crush?

 IMG_1559

These three goons! They’re all so adorable. I love them. GAHHH. adjhflk ;jfa;j

Newest Favorite Character?

IMG_1736

Andrea from The Walking Dead. I’m so sad what her character became in the television series, because I love her in the comics. She’s on the cover of that top copy (which is also my favorite color – yellow). That probably makes this one my favorite TWD cover arts! (Michonne is my favorite TV series character, as you can see by my Pop Vinyl.)

A book that made you cry this year?

IMG_1734

Ugh, I’ve read so many good books this year. This one reduced me to tears way too easily. But, they were good tears – happy tears. I loved this book. Another literally perfect one.

Book that made you happy? 

IMG_1735

This book was such an inspirational, well-told, entertaining story. I loved reading Strayed’s tale of adventure. I felt like I could do anything once I finished. Her writing was beautiful, moving, and, ultimately, just made me feel really, really good.

Favorite book to film adaptation you’ve seen so far this year?

The only adaptation I’ve seen this year (I think?) is The Martian (yesterday), and I was so unhappy with it. So, I guess I haven’t seen any good adaptations. Maybe I did, and it’s (they’re) just slipping my mind. I don’t know. I’m just so upset The Martian was so badly done.

Favorite review you’ve written this year? (sorry, skipping this one cause i’m lazy)

Most beautiful book you’ve bought (or received) so far this year?

IMG_1737

My friend April got me this gorgeous copy of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and other Lewis Carroll works. Look how pretty it is. I’m in love. So, so in love.

What books do you have to read by the end of the year?

IMG_1738

So many books; so little time. How do I even choose?

Well, that was super fun, even if it came way later in the year than it was supposed to. Oh well. I still always love talking about the books I’m reading. What have been some of your favorite books of the year? Do we have any in common?

Please feel free, as always, to add/follow/chat with me on the following platforms:TumblrGoodreadsInstagramFacebook. Also, check out my (I’m-almost-finished-with-some-new-projects) Etsy Shop, which I also made a Facebook page for where you can keep up with new and current postings. Check it out here. And, if you want to add me on Snapchat my username is Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

3 thoughts on “Mashup Monday – Mentioned Me: Mid-Year Freak Out Book Tag

    1. Thanks for tagging me! I love doing tags – even if they usually take me forever to get around to. I like comic book Andrea way better than how short lived her character was on the TV show. It’s crazy how they can all be so different! (Except Rick; Rick is the same haha.) That’s kind of what I love about the comics and the show, they’re so different, yet so similar. It’s two ways to experience the same story that I love.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

