F U, Penguin: Telling Cute Animals What’s What by Matthew Gasteier

5/5 Stars

It’s review day! Yay! I’m so excited to be reviewing this book today (tonight), because this book was so good. I’m so glad I came across and picked up this book at Goodwill. Penguins are my favorite animals, so I just had to get this one. I figured even if it wasn’t that good, I wouldn’t be losing anything more than $1.00 and a bit of time. But, this book was way more than I expected it to be in such a phenomenal way.

This is a book that was compiled back in 2009 (a little dated, I know, but still hilarious) by Matthew Gasteier and a small team to convert his blog into a book. It’s a compiling of blog-post style pages along with funny internet animal pictures/memes. The picture is on the right page and then a description explaining why these animals are wrong for being so cute is on the left side. Matthew writes with a sarcastic sense of humor that is sure to have you laughing out loud and, along with him, cursing these animals for being so darn cute and ruining our lives.

fupenguin

*click the photo to be redirected to the book’s Goodreads page*

It was kind of hard to coherently explain this book, but I hope my synopsis was compelling and got you interested because you should be. This book was utterly hilarious. I found myself laughing out loud on more than one occasion. (Every couple pages actually.) Gasteier’s humor is spot on and fantastic. I never knew I needed a book like this in my life until it was in my life and open in my hands.

It’s a super fun, fast read. The font is large and since every other page is a photo, it’s easy to fly through this one. Honestly, the whole thing is probably readable in a few hours, if that. So, you have no excuse (except maybe a lack of money) to not go out and get your hands on this book to bring some much needed laughter into your life.

I am going to put a small warning here. This book is filled with explicit language and, if that’s not your thing, you might want to pass on this book (even though I just told everyone to go out and buy it). If this is not something that bothers you, then, my friend, get this book.

This is seriously one of the best thrift store finds I’ve found in awhile (other than 101 Reasons Why a Cat is Better than a Man, which was also a pretty funny read). I’m so glad I picked this book up and especially glad that there was a penguin on the cover to force me to buy it.

So, my friends, pick up a copy of this book today and find out how we can take this world back from the penguins (and other cute animals) that are taking it over. Seriously, I recommend this book to anyone and everyone looking for a good laugh. It’s a quick, easy read, and it will definitely put a smile on your face.

Get it from Book Depository for $12.95.

Well, that was a short review tonight. There really wasn’t too much to analyze in this book besides the humor. The writing was of course good, and the layout is great, but nothing much to go into detail about besides me telling you to read this book. So, until tomorrow, I bid you all ado.

Please feel free, as always, to add/follow/chat with me on the following platforms:TumblrGoodreadsInstagramFacebook. Also, check out my (I-actually-added-another-something-new) Etsy Shop, which I also made a Facebook page for where you can keep up with new and current postings. Check it out here. And, if you want to add me on Snapchat, my username is Smashleyyy92.

One thought on “F U, Penguin: Telling Cute Animals What’s What by Matthew Gasteier

Leave a Reply

