Top Ten Tuesday – Author Pair-Ups

Hey there! Welcome to another Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is authors you’d like to see do mashups and write books together. I have to say, this was a fun one. I also am told that I get bonus points (although I’m not sure what these points are good for – welcome to Top Ten Tuesday where the posts are made up and the points don’t matter) for describing the type of book I’d want them to write. That sounds kind of fun, so I think I’ll attempt to do that too as part of this week’s Top Ten Tuesday.

*click each authors photo to be directed to their Goodreads page*

ONE

laini taylor kelly creagh

Laini Taylor and Kelly Creagh. I could totally see this two writing a young adult horror fantasy. With Taylor’s love for angels, demons, and fantasy and Creagh’s love for horror (mainly Edgar Allan Poe) as well as fantasy, these two authors could write a fantastic adventure.

TWO

andy weirsuzanne collins

Andy Weir and Suzanne Collins. I don’t know why I’m feeling this mashup, but I think it would totally work. They could write a comical, yet intense, sci-fi, dystopian new adult book. I don’t know. I’d read it.

THREE

daniel handlerseth grahame-smith

Daniel Handler and Seth Grahame-Smith. Okay, so picture this: Seth Grahame-Smith’s ideas with Daniel Handler’s Lemony Snicket writing tone. I think it could be great. Monster Horror story as told by a Lemony Snicket-like character. “It’s not too late to pick up a happy book. I assure you this vampire story will not end well for anyone, including you, dear reader.”

FOUR

veronica rothleigh bardugo

Veronica Roth and Leigh Bardugo. Dystopian Fantasy. Yes please. These two could really create something great. I honestly think so.

FIVE

david arnoldlisa lutz

David Arnold and Lisa Lutz. These two have a very similar writing style except they write for different age groups. But, I think these two would write an excellent new adult realistic romance. They wouldn’t sugarcoat anything and would write a realistic, compelling story – I’m sure of it.

SIX

noelle stevensonallie brosh

Noelle Stevenson and Allie Brosh. These two have a similar sense of humor and also both write graphic novels, so I think if they came together, they’d make a new and interesting book that I would just be dying to read. I’m not exactly sure the type of book that would come from this pairing. I’m convinced it would only be decided when the two got together and discussed ideas and started to build their book.

SEVEN

ellen hopkinsgillian flynn

Ellen Hopkins and Gillian Flynn. Okay, imagine a Flynn mystery told in Hopkins poetic prose. I think it’s a great idea. I would read a book like that. A mystery solved by reading between the lines. Or just something really awesome like that. The structure would make it unique, interesting, and compelling.

EIGHT

stephen kinggareth roberts

Stephen King and Gareth Roberts. This would be a good one. I would love a Doctor Who novel with a Stephen King horror twist. Come on, how cool would it be to mashup Stephen King’s horror (or maybe he’s even written into the book!) with all the brilliance of Doctor Who. Okay, but like, can this happen?

NINE

ian doescherniel gaiman

Ian Doescher and Neil Gaiman. I think this would be an interesting matchup. Maybe they could collaborate on a fantasy told in iambic pentameter (illustrated, of course). I think it would an interesting pair, although I’m not 100% convinced it would actually work. But, I think these two should give it a shot.

TEN

robert kirkmansarah j. maas

Robert Kirkman and Sarah J. Maas. A graphic novel of a female assassin fighting the zombie apocalypse with a lead character similar to Michonne fighting in a similar setting that Sarah J. Maas creates in Throne of Glass. Okay, come on, this sounds like a brilliant comic series. I would totally read it.

Well, that was super awesome. I had so much fun with this week’s Top Ten Tuesday. I hope you had as much fun reading it as I did writing it. Leave the links of your Top Ten Tuesdays in the comments, so I can read yours!

I’m not sure if I’m going to post a tag later today. We’ll see how I feel. I had to get up super early today, so I might just take multiple naps and binge read or binge watch a show. Take care everyone!

Please feel free, as always, to add/follow/chat with me on the following platforms:TumblrGoodreadsInstagramFacebook. Also, check out my (currently very empty) Etsy Shop. And, if you want to add me on Snapchat, my username is Smashleyyy92.

Leave a Reply

