Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Favorite Graphic Novels and Comics

Wow, I really need to start looking at The Broke and The Bookish‘s feature Top Ten Tuesday ahead of time. This week the topic is FREEBIE, and I was in no way prepared for this. Oh my goodness. What ever will I do? Okay Ashley, just breath. Deep breath. Now think.

winniepooh

Okay, I think I got it. Yea. I got this. Right. I’m going to do my Top Ten Favorite Graphic Novels and Comics. What a brilliant idea I’ve had. Thank goodness. Now I’m excited, so here goes: a list of my favorites.

Also, I’m going to start putting links to Goodreads onto my photos, so just click each one to be redirected to it’s Goodreads page where you can read more about each book I list.

ONE

wallkingdead

It should not be surprising that The Walking Dead Comic Series is the first book on my list. I absolutely adore the TV show, so of course I had to start reading the comics. I would be finished with the ones that are currently available already if it wasn’t for having to purchase each copy, and I never seem to have enough money.

TWO

nimona

This is my new favorite graphic novel. I read this in one sitting. Not like reading a graphic novel in one sitting is hard, but I’m notorious for getting distracted easily and taking breaks. I took no breaks. I read this straight through. It was phenomenal. Amazing. I need to own my own copy so I can read it 50 more times. To read my full review of this text, click here.

THREE

nightoflivingdeadpool

This one shouldn’t be surprising either, especially after I just stated how much I love The Walking Dead. I’m such a sucker for zombies. They’re my favorite horror creature. So, when Deadpool was combined with Night of the Living Dead (and other zombie movie references) I just had to get my hands on it. I’m so glad this comic wasn’t a disappointment. To read my full review of this text, click here.

FOUR

hawkeyendeadpool

This is the only other Deadpool comic I’ve read (curse money), but it’s another superb comic. I loved everything about this. To read my full review of this text, click here.

FIVE

giganticbeard

had to pick this one up because of the beard. Everything about this cover and title screamed “READ ME.” So, after conveniently finding it at the library only a few days after adding it to my TBR list, that’s exactly what I did, and I adored it. To read my full review of this text, click here.

SIX

ghostworld

This graphic novel was recommended to me by my friend April and is another one I luckily found at the library. Such a great, thought-provoking read. I loved everything about this comic, even if it was a bit of a downer. It was a good sort of downer. To read my full review of this text, click here.

SEVEN

hyperbole

One of my absolute favorite graphic novels (right below Nimona). I am seriously sitting in anticipation for the next one of Brosh’s books to come out. I. Cannot. Wait. This is a must, must, must read! To read my full review of this text, click here.

EIGHT

vforvendetta

“Remember, remember the 5th of November.” That line may only be in the movie (a good movie on its own, but a mediocre representation of the actual graphic novel), but this comic definitely stands for something strong in it’s own right. I’m actually kind of glad I watched the movie before reading this graphic novel, since it helped me separate them and not be disappointed. I really enjoyed this text and even wrote a final project report on it for a class I took in college.

NINE

completepersepolis

I love this comic series. You may remember me gushing about this compilation just last week. It’s definitely worth the read. I also recommend and love Satrapi’s continuation of her memoir in EmbroideriesTo read my full review of this text, click here.

TEN

transformers

Don’t hate, don’t hate. I absolutely love the Transformers comics (as well as the TV show – which I used to watch all the time as a kid, the three newest adapted movies – even though the second one has the biggest plot hole in plot hole history my love for this series helps me overlook that, and I will admit that recent remake with Mark Wahlberg was a travesty that let me down so, so hard). I have read the first compilation of this comics series and have the second one, but haven’t started it yet. I’m getting there. And, when I do, I’m sure it will not let me down.

Well, that was actually really easy once I decided what I wanted to write about. I have a few more books/comics that didn’t make this list, but if you’re curious for more recommendations, I can definitely give you a few. I’m so glad I finally accepted graphic novels and comics as literature, because I was missing out in high school on these great stories (and pieces of art) since I was such a gross literature snob. What a dark time in my life.

Also, Summer (@xingsings), you should have never said anything about how strange it would be if my Top Ten Tuesday didn’t feature Harry Potter or a classic, because here is the post that has featured neither. (Although, maybe Transformers can be considered a classic, since the comics were published in the ’80s…maybe haha). I just had to point this out!

Thanks for reading everyone. Send me the links to your top Ten Tuesdays so I can see what’s on your list! Please feel free, as always, to add/follow/chat with me on the following platforms:Tumblr,Goodreads,InstagramFacebook. And, if you want to add me on Snapchat, just message me on any of the previously listed platforms, and I will give you my username.

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Favorite Graphic Novels and Comics

    1. Thank you! I actually really liked the topic I chose haha (as you can probably tell). You should definitely read Nimona. I’m so in love with it! It’s so fun and heartfelt and an all around great story 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Even thought T10T posts take a long time (well at least for me) to compose, they’re relatively quickly idea-wise since the topic is usually already set. I’m pretty sure I would have some minor hyperventilation if I had to come up with my topic week as well. AND OMG, I cannot believe such a day has come. 😉 Let’s just argue that Transformers isn’t! This is HP and classics free post, haha. Oh and fun fact: I haven’t ever read a graphic novel before! I have read a few manga series but not actual graphic novels. So I’ll take a look into some of these titles. I have heard of Hyperbole and a Half before, so I may pick up that one one day!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yea, I was definitely not prepared to come up with my own topic haha. I can’t believe the post not including a classic or HP has come haha. I didn’t even try to do that on purpose! I actually really like graphic novels, but I totally understand that they’re not everyone’s cup of tea. I hope you enjoy the one(s) you actually pick up someday 🙂 Hyperbole and a half is really funny and also super relatable (at least it was for me). Happy reading (when you finally get around to them and just in general)!

      Like

    1. I love the TV series too. I can’t wait for it to start up again as well! Because I started reading the series after watching all the current seasons of the show that are currently out, I wasn’t sure what to expect and was hoping I wouldn’t be disappointed in any way. And, I wasn’t. I wouldn’t say that the comic series is better, but good in a different way. It has a lot of the same general ideas that happen in the show and each issue is just as intense as an episode of the TV show, but it’s a such a different experience. I hope that makes sense. I’m happy to say, though, that’s it’s really easy to separate the show and the comic series, especially since there are a great deal of minor differences including small plot variances and some characters being stronger/weaker/different in the comic series and some characters that are not in the TV show but are in the comic and also vice versa. Overall, as long as you like reading graphic novels and/or comics I would suggest you read the comics, but if you’re not so much into that style of writing/story telling, I would just stick to the TV show. I do really enjoy the comic series, though.

      Like

    1. Thanks for reading! Glad you liked my topic. I haven’t read Saga yet, but it’s on my list (like so many other books haha). I definitely recommend Nimona. It was heartfelt, humorous, and fun – a great story worth the read!

      Like

Leave a Reply

