Top Ten Tuesday – Characters You Couldn’t Connect With

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday hosted by The Broke and the Bookish concerns characters that you just couldn’t connect with. When I can’t connect with a character, it makes the whole book an intolerable experience. When there is not even an ounce of connection or the possibility of sympathizing, I can’t bring myself to enjoy the book the way it’s supposed to be enjoyed. Here are a few characters that just didn’t quite make it for me, resulting in a not-so-positive reading experience.

ONE

Niffenegger_TTW_mech.indd

I couldn’t bring myself to sympathize with Clare. I wasn’t fond of her character or personality, so I found it hard to care about her at all. Although so many people love this novel, I can’t say that I am one of them.

TWO

notmeyou

Zoe in this novel definitely did not strum any of my heart strings. I was excited to read this short little book, thinking the plot sounded interesting, but, ultimately, the characters, including the main protagonist, fell flat.

THREE

ifistay

Mia was yet another character that I couldn’t connect with. I found her one-dimensional and unable to invoke any strong feelings in me. I thought this book was mediocre at best and don’t have much of a desire to read anything else by this author, let alone even finish the series.

FOUR

ophelia

As much as I wanted to like this book – An in depth story about Ophelia? Heck yes! – I found this story to be really flat and only 1-star worthy. I did not like Ophelia’s character, could not relate to her, and found her story to be far-fetched and not worth the read.

FIVE

pearlearing

Another one that I was really looking forward to reading, but I just couldn’t get into. Griet is shallow (not in the mean sense, but in character depth), and she never fully develops for me. I can’t bring myself to care about her choices and found myself skimming just to finish.

SIX

maze runner

I know, I know, unpopular opinion here, but I just couldn’t get into this book at all. I didn’t like Dashner’s writing and, therefore, did not like Thomas’ character. I have zero desire to push through the rest of this series.

SEVEN

elsewhere

 Yet another book I couldn’t connect to the main character. This is a book I had to read for a YA Lit class I took in college, but Liz did not shine through like many of the other protagonists we read. I definitely skimmed this book just because I had to actually finish it for class.

EIGHT

zombieland

This is a book that I felt so detached from the main character, Alice, that I couldn’t even get past page 50. I gave up on this book, disliking the writing and the characters. I had such high hopes because this combined two of my absolute favorite things. But, I was just let down from the very beginning. What a shame.

NINE

save me

Cara was one of the most unsympathetic characters I’ve come across in a long time. I received a free copy of this book for review and I’m sure all I, the publishers, and the writer wished I didn’t. Cara is spoiled, oblivious, and obviously unaware of how things actually work. And I just need to stop there, because I could rant about this book for days.

TEN

mrs. blake

Another story that I thought would be very charming, but turned out to be a dud. Cora was a bland, boring character, making it impossible for me to sympathize with her. I ended up having to give up this story, unable to persevere to find out what eventually happens to Cora.

I always hate talking about books I didn’t like; it’s never much fun. This was kind of a downer Tuesday, but I will be back tomorrow with a review! But, that might also be kind of a downer, depending on what I choose to review. I’m skipping out on a tag this week, since I’m traveling and don’t have access to my bookshelf to take pictures. But, I will be back with a new tag next week!

Hope you’re having a fan-tabulous Tuesday.

Please feel free, as always, to add/follow/chat with me on the following platforms:Tumblr,Goodreads,InstagramFacebook. And, if you want to add me on Snapchat, just message me on any of the previously listed platforms, and I will give you my username.

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday – Characters You Couldn’t Connect With

Leave a Reply

