Musings Monday

So, I’m a little more tired than I thought I would be tonight (Sunday), since I wasn’t planning on walking about 6 miles up and down sand dunes barefoot. To say I’m exhausted would be an understatement. As much as I wanted to get out a complete Musings Monday today (Monday), I just don’t think I can focus enough to write a thought-provoking, interesting piece.

In leu of a full-blown Musings Monday, I’m thinking I’m just going to talk about books and vacation.

I don’t really know what to say about this topic, though. I’m so sorry I’m such a mess right now. Maybe it’s best if I just don’t write anything. But, I would feel even worse about not getting some sort of reading material out.

Okay, speaking of reading material.

It’s definitely something I need when I’m on vacation. I seriously had such a hard time picking which books to bring along on this, might I add short, vacation. I’m only going to be gone for one week, but I brought about 10 books along with me. I have zero self control when it comes to packing books for a trip.

The only time I can seem to practice self control when packing books is when I’m flying. Otherwise, being that I can just keep my bagful on the floor in the back seat, I can bring, virtually, as many books as I want.

This is a serious problem of mine. I can’t believe that it would be so hard to just pack a few books like a normal person, but, instead, I feel the need to bring all the extra ones just in case. Just in case what? I still have yet to find out. I know I’m not going to read all of the books I’ve packed. I know I’m not even going to pick up half of them. So why do I still feel the need to bring them?

I think, for me, it’s a comfort issue. I feel comfortable when books are around me. They’re like the old and steadfast thing I can trust when I’m traveling to a new and strange place. Having books with me calms me even if I get into situations that may be mildly troubling. I get to bring a small piece of home with me when I travel to keep me entertained and in a zone of almost constant comfort.

Do you find comfort in books on vacation? What’s your favorite genre to take with you when you travel?

Sorry this post was a bit all over the place. But, I hope you at least enjoyed my ramblings a bit. If not, that’s okay. I understand. I, hopefully, will be back with something a bit better structured tomorrow. Until then, have a great Monday!

Please feel free, as always, to add/follow/chat with me on the following platforms:Tumblr,Goodreads,InstagramFacebook. And, if you want to add me on Snapchat, just message me on any of the previously listed platforms, and I will give you my username.

One thought on “Musings Monday

Leave a Reply

