The Three Days Blow by Earnest Hemingway

1/5 Stars

This is another short story from the book I read “The Standard of Living” by Dorothy Parker in (50 Great Short Stories by Milton Crane). I published a review for that short story last week. Find it here. Now, to start out with, I’m just going to flat out say that I do not like Earnest Hemingway. I minored in English Literature in college and came into contact with many people, including a few professors (meaning that I was forced to read his writing), who loved his writing…or at least were pretending that they did. I, however, could never quite get there with his stories. I knew right away that I should have skipped this story in this compilation and should not have even thought of subjecting myself to another one of Hemingway’s attempts at literature.

Okay, so now you’re probably asking yourself why I am so against Hemingway. Well, let me tell you why. I’m against him because he was against me – women in general. Okay, it’s not only that. It’s that he was a drunken, misogynistic, sexist asshole who’s writing is bland, dry, and boring. Many men, and women, think that Hemingway was this dashing, rugged man who wrote and drank in sophistication (the true American backwoods boy). But, I can tell you, that was not the case. He didn’t care about anyone or anything except his booze and wrote floozy stories that are so read and admired today that it makes me a bit sick to my stomach.

Anyway, I’m supposed to be writing a review. Right. On with it, then.

This is a story about two teenage boys who decide to get drunk for no particular reason (go figure). One has just broken up with his long-term girlfriend and is struggling with if he should call her, try and apologize, and attempt to make-up. But, the other boy talks him out of it, saying that women don’t mean anything anyway and that all this guy needs is him and some booze (again, go figure). So, they get drunk on the second guy’s (the one not heartbroken) dad’s, who happens to be out hunting, liquor. It ends with these two drunk teenagers – sorry not sorry spoiler alert – grabbing their guns to go out and join the father who’s hunting. Sounds like a really smart idea, right? Someone’s probably going to get shot. Whatever.

So, from my first few paragraphs you can probably already tell what I’m going to say about the writing. I’m not a fan. Hemingway has written another bland story. It really wouldn’t hurt him to add some spice to his life, but he’s too busy getting drunk and continuing to write mediocre stories instead of attempting to grow as an author. Okay, I really need to stop getting sidetracked.

The characters are boring and lack depth. There’s really nothing beyond wanting to get drunk in the one boy who convinces his friend to get drunk. In the heartbroken boy there’s a bit more of a personality. We can see that he is indeed struggling a bit with this breakup. But, since he comes to the conclusion that this girl will be at his beck and call whenever he decides to call and try and fix their relationship, he puts her out of his mind and focusses on getting drunk. It all comes back to just getting drunk. Which, in it’s own can be a way of healing, but knowing Hemingway, it’s not.

The story is very short, only about 4 pages, and never fully takes off. There’s no rising action, climax, or falling action. It’s all pretty even. And, I mean, I guess the climax is that they’re going out with guns and will probably end up shooting something or someone they’re not supposed to, because, even though each one insists they’re not actually drunk, they’re both sloshed.

Welp. I should probably end my review now. I probably shouldn’t have even attempted to write this in the first place. I’m honestly not trying to offend anyone. These are all my personal opinions, and, I mean – I’m not happy about it – but if you want to like Hemingway, you go ahead and like him. I can’t stop you. I’ve put in my 2 cents. It’s out there. I may have saved someone from reading a pointless story. That’s the end of this. I’m done for the day. Stay tuned for a more upbeat review tomorrow. (And I mean a WAY more upbeat review tomorrow!)

I heartily applaud you if you made it to the end of my negative review, rant, type thing. Please feel free, as always, to add/follow/chat with me on the following platforms:Tumblr, Goodreads,InstagramFacebook. And, if you want to add me on Snapchat, just message me on any of the previously listed platforms, and I will give you my username.

8 thoughts on “The Three Days Blow by Earnest Hemingway

  1. I have yet to read a Hemingway novel that I will actually like, albeit, I’ve only read like three. I don’t know why I keep trying to read his books… I guess I’m hoping that at least one of his works will finally impress me. I msut be torturing myself. HAHA

    Like

    1. Yea, I felt the same way my first few years in college. I was like something has to be halfway decent, but I’ve never come across something by him that I’ve liked. Plus, I just can’t get past his personality. You are torturing yourself haha!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I find Hemingway a little bit pretentious and maybe even sexist….
        The only thing that I actually will tolerate about him is probably his writing style. I know some people don’t like it but I personally do; however, the plot of his books are always so boring so I usually just end up not liking any of it!

        Like

      2. He’s definitely pretentious and sexist (and it comes across in his writing – probably my biggest issue with reading his works). His style is nowhere near the worst thing about his writing. It has a nice blatant, to-the-point air about it. His writing isn’t really what causes me to not like him; it’s more of a can’t get past his personality and that his personality comes through in the stories he writes. The only piece so far I’ve been able to tolerate so far to the point of almost enjoyment was his short story “Hills Like White Elephants. That one actually has some intrigue to it and isn’t quite as boring as his other work.

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh my gosh I hope so! Have you read A Farewell To Arms? It’s one of his famous works, but the story sounds so dull though. HAHA I’m thinking of reading that next.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’ve read bits of it for a class. It was…interesting. But, my professor was a little strange, so I don’t know if she just picked out some of the strangest parts in it to read. One of the chapters we read wasn’t awful, but came across sexist (of course). Another part was some women giving birth and Hemingway goes into a lot of detail. It’s been awhile since I’ve read the few random chapters, but it they didn’t compel me to pick up the entire book. I’ll be curious to read what you think of it!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

