Tag Tuesday –Summer Reader Book Tag

Erika over @erikainbookventureland tagged me to do the Summer Reader Book Tag. Thanks so much! I’ve started taking all my own photos for these tags, so I had a great time exploring the books on my bookshelf again this week. Taking photos of books is one of my favorite hobbies. So, anyway, on with the tag! Since summer is almost over, it’s been fun doing a few tags to keep the spirit alive just a bit longer (even though it’s been super cloudy, overcast, and rainy here in Wisconsin).

LEMONADE: PICK A BOOK THAT STARTED OFF BITTER, BUT GOT BETTER.

IMG_1549

I read this Adult Fiction book when I was a senior in high school, so it was hard to get into at first, but next thing I knew it was 2 am, I was finishing Santos’ beautiful words, and I was balling like a baby. Once I got through the initial bitter start where I though I wasn’t going to be able to finish this book, it got super sweet and pulled every one of my heartstrings.

GODLEN SUN: PICK A BOOK THAT MADE YOU SMILE BEYOND COMPARE.

IMG_1550

I adore this little book by Neil Gaiman, illustrated by Skottie Young. This story is so fun, unique, and fresh. I was smiling from ear to ear beginning to end. Even though this is a children’s book, I love and highly recommend it.

TROPICAL FLOWERS: PICK A BOOK SET IN A FOREIGN COUNTRY.

IMG_1551

Another tear jerker, but another absolutely amazing book. I love, love, love this story. It’s also one of the few book-to-film adaptations I’m in love with. I’ve watched the movie 3 times now. I’m not one for watching movies more than once, but this one is brilliant. It’s really time for me to re-read this story, though. It’s been too long.

TREE SHADE: PICK A BOOK IN WHICH A MYSTERIOUS OR SHADY CHARACTER WAS FIRST INTRODUCED.

IMG_1553

I love this book, because we are introduced to Zoe and at first we trust that whatever she’s telling us is true. But, then things keep happening that make you question if you can actually trust Zoe. So, it’s not that she’s necessarily shady from the start, but she is mysterious and slowly starts to become shady. She’s an unreliable narrator, and I’m a sucker for unreliable narrators.

BEACH SAND: PICK A BOOK THAT WAS GRAINY, AND THE PLOT BARELY DEVELOPED.

IMG_1554

I usually don’t hold on to books I don’t end up liking, but I haven’t been to Half Price Books to sell this one yet, and it seems perfect, since it’s the only book on hand for this question. As much as I want to like this series, it never fully develops. I still plan on reading the rest, but I’m in no hurry to do so. It is definitely grainy.

GREEN GRASS: PICK A CHARACTER(S) THAT IS FULL OF LIFE, MAKING YOU SMILE.

IMG_1555

Most of these characters aren’t actually people, but these true stories made me smile so heartily. I received a free copy of this book for review, and it’s probably one of my favorite review copies that I’ve gotten in the mail. Coincidentally enough, the cover of this book is covered in grass.

WATERMELON: PICK A BOOK THAT HAD SOME JUICY SECRETS.

IMG_1556

The Shining, like any Stephen King novel, is filled with juicy secrets. They’re around every corner. This book isn’t that long, but there’s tons loaded inside these pages. Suspense and secrets. The best of the best.

SUN HAT: PICK A BOOK THAT HAD A VAST UNIVERSE/SETTING. 

IMG_1557

A literal vast universe setting. Ford Prefect and Arthur Dent travel the universe from end to end to end after earth is destroyed. A fun, lovable book that’s filled to the brim with humor and fantastic characters.

BBQ: PICK A BOOK IN WHICH A CHARACTER IS PORTRAYED AS A HUNK.

IMG_1558

Four and Tris start out as the typical YA trope of girl meets hunky boy she thinks she has no chance with though you know they’ll end up together. Despite this, I really love this couple. Tris is a very independent person before and after her relationship with Tobias Eaton, and that may be the redemption of this couple for me. Also, correct me if I’m wrong, there’s no love triangle in this series, right? (It’s been awhile since I read it.) This helps me be able to deal with the trope-y nature of  the start of Tris and Tobias’ relationship.

SUMMER FUN: PASS THE TAG ON

Charley @booksandbakes1
Evie @justanotherbelle
Cristina @mytinyobsessions
Caitlin @caitlinsternwrites
Summer @xingsings

I also tag anyone else who wants to do this tag. Link back to me, though, so I can read your answers!
As always, there are no obligations.

Thanks for stopping by and reading. I had a ton of fun with this tag. It’s so nice to explore and rediscover all my books. Please feel free, as always, to add/follow/chat with me on the following platforms:Tumblr, Goodreads,InstagramFacebook. And, if you want to add me on Snapchat, just message me on any of the previously listed platforms, and I will give you my username.

21 thoughts on “Tag Tuesday –Summer Reader Book Tag

    1. Yea, I’m super backlogged on my tags, so if I’m going down, I’m taking someone else with me, haha! Thanks for reading 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I agree with Four. He’s one of my favorite young adult books hero. Just like you I loved the romance in Divergent. The couple was actually someone you can root for since both the hero and heroine were actually likeable. And thank goodness there was no love triangle.
    Thanks for doing the tag! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Divergent is so refreshing because it’s a YA Dystopian with no love triangle. I’m so glad they never introduced one. I also love how Tris and Four’s relationship fell easily into place and made me want it to happen and just feel like it was mediocre and had to happen. Thanks for reading and for tagging me! I had fun with this one 🙂

      Like

      1. Yes their romance is amongst one of my favorites from young adult books. It’s also great that they had a healthy relationship. I mean Tris had her moments but they were pretty much a normal couple without all the crazy…..

        Like

    1. You are most welcome! I know how the never ending TBR goes. Mine’s only gotten worse since I started blogging and becoming so active in the online book community!

      Like

      1. Right? It’s the goal, but the way I add books to my TBR, I don’t think I’ll ever reach it haha!

        Like

      2. Yea, I know how that goes. I set mine for 80, hoping I would read more. And, I’m set to finish ahead of schedule (but I’ve counted some short stories in there, which don’t technically count as novels, but don’t technically count as cheating either – haha!). I keep reading books that are on my TBR, but I swear I’m adding them even quicker!

        Like

  2. There’s quite a few titles in your answers that I have on my TBR list. Divergent and The Book Thief both are priority reads. I probably won’t get to them until next year though. XD And Neil Gaiman! I have yet to read anything by him. Also, thanks for the tag, Ashley! 😀

    Like

    1. The Book Thief will be so worth it when you finally do get around to it, but it’s definitely time-consuming. I need to read more Neil Gaiman. So far I’ve only read 2, but they were both phenomenal! You are most welcome for the tag 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

