Top Ten Tuesday

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday hosted by The Broke and the Bookish is top ten books you would teach if you taught ______ class. I like that this week’s topic has a bit of freedom with it. I think I’m going to say that I’m teaching Exploring the World’s Classic Novels. Yea, that sounds like a class I would totally teach. Okay, so, I’m going to pick the top classical books I would teach if I were the professor of Exploring the World’s Classic Novels.

NOVELS I WOULD TEACH

fahrenhiet   aliceinwonderland   pride&prejudice   littlewomen    slaughterhouse   wrinkleintime   thewaves  returnofsoldier   animalfarm   earnest

HONORABLE MENTIONS

  gatsby   mockingbird   treasureisland   annakarenina    janeeyre   mobydick

As you can see, I chose a bit of a different format for this week’s Top Ten Tuesday. It’s because as I was searching out covers to my favorite classics, I was also rediscovering all the classic short stories I love. I’m choosing to include a separate Top Ten Tuesday for those. So, this would be another class I would be teaching called Exploring the World’s Classic Short Stories. I feel like these two classes would go hand in hand and that I would love teaching both.

SHORT STORIES I WOULD TEACH

    monkey's paw   bartleby   deathofivan   telltaleheart      gardenparty*   parkerdorothy*   roseforemily   dangerousgame     wallpaper *  thesaint*

*The pictures with asterisks to their lower right need a bit more clarification, since I couldn’t find covers for the individual short stories I would teach. So, in order: “The Garden Party” by Katherine Mansfield, “The Standard of Living” by Dorothy Parker, “The Yellow Wallpaper” by Charlotte Perkins Gilman, and “The Saint” by V.S. Pritchett.

Okay, well, there you have it. My Top Ten Tuesday that somehow turned into 2 Top Ten Tuesdays. I really like classics, can you tell? I love discussing what the writers may have meant, since most of them you can’t simply ask anymore. These are all definitely my favorites. What are some of you favorite classics?

Thanks for reading! Please feel free, as always, to add/follow/chat with me on the following platforms:Tumblr, Goodreads,InstagramFacebook. And, if you want to add me on Snapchat, just message me on any of the previously listed platforms, and I will give you my username.

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. I adore A Rose for Emily. It’s one of the few things by Faulkner I actually enjoyed reading. Loved your other choices, too, though! I really have to be in the mood to read classics, which I wish wasn’t the case. There’s so many I want to read but I’m just not motivated to do so.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I read A Rose for Emily in high school and fell in love with it. I was like the only person in my Freshmen English class that actually enjoyed it, haha! I can totally understand why you have to be in a certain mood to read classics. Most of them take a lot of getting used and sometimes are hard to understand and adapt to the writing style at first. I’m pretty good at it now, I think because I started reading classics so young. (I used to be a bit of a literature snob…but I no longer am – thank goodness.) It’s hard to find the motivation. Hopefully you enjoy the ones you do finally get around to reading 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I definitely agree. I’ve only read Slaughterhouse Five by him, but I need to read more of him soon! A close friend of mine has read quite a few of his works. I need to catch up, haha.

      Like

Leave a Reply

