Top Ten Tuesday

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday hosted by The Broke and the Bookish is top ten authors that are auto-buys. In case you’re not one hundred % certain what is meant by that (no shame if you aren’t), it’s authors’ books that you buy automatically regardless of genre, plot, or length. I definitely have a few authors that are auto-buys. So, here are some authors that have my allegiance to the very end.

ONE

casualvacancy cuckoo's calling silkworm

Okay, so I haven’t actually read any of these yet, but J.K. Rowling is definitely my top auto-buy author. I know it’s not Harry Potter, but Ms. Rowling will forever hold a spot dear in my heart, and I feel like, even though her other books will never be nor will never live up to Harry Potter, she will still produce good work. I am excited to continue with her on her journey as an author.

TWO

petsamatary theshinning(dontwanttogetsuednow) onwriting

Stephen King is also another author that I will buy literally anything from. If I see a Stephen King book I don’t already own, you best believe it’s coming home with me. Thrift shops are especially dangerous for finding his books. And they’re always so cheap I can’t possibly pass them up!

THREE

starwarsI starwarsII starwarsIII

I’ve read all of the William Shakespeare’s Star Wars except the last one that was released, and I absolutely adore them. I will definitely be keeping up with Ian Doescher after he has finished this series and moved on to new projects. I can’t wait to see what the future holds for his career.

FOUR

whiplash gunshot longandfaraway

I’ve only read The Long and Faraway Gone so far by this wonderful man, Lou Berney, but it was simply fantastic. I actually won a free copy of it through Goodreads and was super impressed, since I never expect too much from my Goodreads’ wins. I will without a doubt be keeping up with this author and buying whatever he publishes.

FIVE

ACOTAR throneofglass crownofmidnight

Sarah J. Maas. Once again, I’ve only read one book by hers, Throne of Glass, but she is definitely an author I am going to follow. I am so excited to read the rest of her works. Her books are for sure ones that I do not feel are over hyped. They are worth every positive review.

SIX

the milk blackmountains americangods

I’ve read the first two books pictured here and loved them very much. I already have a copy of American Gods, so I will hopefully be reading that soon! This is an author I already adore and will be keeping up with his wide variety of works.

SEVEN

darkplaces gone girl sharpobjects

I finished Gone Girl. That was phenomenal. I’m currently reading and so far enjoying Dark Objects. This is unquestionably an author I will be keeping tabs on as she continues to write amazing books. Even if she for some reason decides to switch up her genre, I will hands down buy whatever she produces.

EIGHT

paper towns trynnafindalaska TFIOS

John Green is a beautiful writer. I don’t care what anyone says, I love this man and will continue to keep up with his writing excursions. He has so much to offer, and I have been nothing but floored with his works. An absolute auto-buy.

NINE

arianddante beginingsandendings lastnightmonster

After reading Ari and Dante I must must must get my hands on the rest of this man’s work. Also, I will be getting my hands on any of his future work as well. This author is 100% one I will be buying no matter what.

TEN

hyperbole solutionsandotherproblems

This girl is a kind of hero to me, and I will be buying every single book/graphic novel/piece of art she puts out. Have you read Hyperbole and a Half yet? If you haven’t, go do it right this instant. I love Brosh’s work and cannot wait to get my hands on her second novel.

Well, there you have it. A few of my auto-buy authors. I actually have a lot more, but I’m going to keep this list to what it’s supposed to be, 10. What are some of your auto-buy authors? As always, thanks for stopping in. Please feel free to reach me and/or follow me at any of the following links:Tumblr, Goodreads, Instagram.

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Great list. I would have included JK Rowling, Stephen King, and Neil Gaiman on my list this week, but they were already on my top ten list last week of authors I’ve read the most books by! I haven’t yet read anything by Gillian Flynn or Benjamin Alira Saenz, but the works that you posted by those two look really interesting. Happy Reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the comment and for reading! I definitely recommend Gillian Flynn if you like psychological crime thrillers. She knows how to keep you on your toes. Her work can be a bit crude, though, so you need to be able to stomach that kind of thing. Aristotle and Dante by Sáenz is young adult, but I read it and loved it. I don’t know what his other two works are classified as, but I plan on finding out soon. Happy reading to you too!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sure I will! I really need to get to reading the rest of her stuff. I’m about to have a lot of free time in September, so I’m sure I’ll be able to catch up. Dark Places is super creepy and, honestly, sometimes hard to stomach, but I love how intense it is and how it keeps me flipping the pages. I’ll see how I feel at the end haha.

      Like

    1. You definitely should! I love is writing style. It’s blunt and to the point, but also genius. Hope you enjoy him when you finally do get around to reading him!

      Like

Leave a Reply

