Musings Monday

I didn’t post a Musings Monday last week, but here I am writing one for this week. Today’s topic is to always make sure and find out for yourself if you like a book or not – never fully rely on everyone else’s opinions. I know I’ve basically touched on this subject in many of my other posts, including most of my other Musings Mondays. But, I think it’s an important topic and deserves a post of its own.

So often we, myself included, feel like we have to like something because so many other people like something or that we have to dislike something because said books have a distasteful air surrounding them. This, however, I can assure you is not and does not have to be the case.

Everyone is different. Diversity is what makes the world go round. If we all like all of the same books exactly the same amount we would live in a pretty boring, mediocre world. We would be living Here, when really we should be living There. This is a reference to the graphic novel The Gigantic Beard that was Evil by Stephen Collins. I highly recommend this short little book. If you’re curious to know more of my thoughts on it, click here.

Anyway, back on topic. I urge you to read any book that draws your interest regardless of it’s popularity rating. You shouldn’t miss out on a book that might be absolutely perfect for you just because a lot of people dislike it. You should also never feel ashamed to read a book that doesn’t have the popularity vote. I’ve read plenty of books that have the popularity vote and I haven’t agreed with that opinion. There have also been books that I’ve loved that people generally don’t like. It’s all about finding what’s right for you.

There are books out there that are just waiting for you to pick them up, books that are screaming at you “It’s the right time,” “Read me please,” and “I’m right for you!” But, you’ll miss out on them if you always follow the main stream.

Now, I’m not saying you should immediately go out and pick up every book that has a bad rating just because it has a bad rating. Some books have bad ratings for a reason and are just generally all around unsatisfactory. But, what I am saying is if a book is absolutely calling your name and you feel like it would be good for you, then disregard every review you’ve read or heard about that book and go for it.

Yes, sometimes you will still come out disappointed, but you tried it. At least you know for sure that the book wasn’t right for you. However, there are times that it’s all going to work out and the book is going to be absolutely perfect for you. And, that is worth all the risk in the world. Finding a book that fits you is everything, and you deserve that chance to experience that happiness.

So, next time your gut is telling you to pick up that book and read it but your mind is second guessing based on popular opinion, absolutely go with your gut feeling and read that book. Like I said previously, it sucks when it does turn out to be horrible or disappointing, but knowing that a book is not for you is always better than torturing yourself with what could have been. No more what ifs. Read it and know.

Thanks everyone, as always, for reading. I hope you’re enjoying these Musings Monday posts. I enjoy writing them! Here are my other social media platforms where I can be reached. It’s always cool to stop by and chat or just follow from a distance. No pressure ever 🙂 Tumblr, Goodreads, Instagram.

Leave a Reply

