The Reading Habits Tag

I was tagged ages ago by Summer @xingsings to answer a few questions about my reading habits. If you haven’t checked out her blog yet, definitely head over there now! Since I’m still not fully caught up enough from my trip to compose a decent review, I’m going to do this tag instead. I don’t think I’m going to be able to get a review out at all this week. Sorry if that’s a disappointment. I’m just too exhausted and have to work a lot. Hopefully next week I will be back in full swing of my normal posting habits. For now, learn a little something about me, or skip over this post all together if you’re strictly here for the reviews. I’m content either way.

1. Do you have a certain place at home for reading?
I typically read in bed. It’s my favorite reading spot. It’s so comfy and cozy and a great place to get lost in a book.

2. Bookmark or random piece of paper?
Bookmark. I own about 15-20 of them, and I love to show them off. (Even though most of them are Harry Potter – not even sorry or ashamed about that.)

3. Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter/a certain amount of pages?
I tend to read too many books at once, so I’m pretty good at just stopping a book whenever. I have no qualms about stopping in the middle of a chapter if I’m too tired to continue, scheduled to be somewhere, or just need a change of imaginary scenery.

4. Do you eat or drink while reading?
I often drink coffee or tea while reading. Usually I always have water by my side as well. I’m not big on eating while reading. Although, one of my Harry Potter books (my hardback copy of The Order of the Phoenix) has a huge chocolate stain on one of the pages – Whoops! My hardback copy of Goblet of Fire is also a little worse for the wear and dons a pretty significant coffee splatter.

5. Multitasking: Music or TV while reading?
I’m really bad at sitting alone in silence, so I either have my music going in the background turned down super low, or have the TV on, usually something like The Simpsons or Law and Order – or something else I’ve seen a million times (the movies Twister or Lord of the Rings are also typical go-tos) so it’s just on for background noise.

6. One book at a time or several at once?
Several at once. I’m currently reading like 10 books. This is my defense against reading slumps, since this way if I’m not enjoying or interested in reading one book, there’s always another to turn to to fill in the gaps. TAKE THAT READING SLUMPS.

7. Reading at home or everywhere?
Everywhere!

8. Reading out loud or silently in your head?
Definitely silently. Although, I do like to read Poetry out loud, and I also typically read Shakespeare out loud. It helps me absorb the ideas better.

9. Do you read ahead or even skip pages?
No. At least I do my best not to skip ahead. I hate myself when I accidentally read a spoiler! I do skim, though, if a book is looking at a 1-2 star rating. But, I’m a very analytical person, so I found it hard to skip ahead since I am constantly looking for things like context clues, symbolism, references, and hidden meanings. It’s both a blessing and a curse.

10. Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?
I’m horrible. I break the spine. I prefer paperbacks, since I’m a back reader (I usually lie on my back and hold my book in front of me), so they create much less stress on my arms and hands, but I’m also that person who opens them way beyond they’re breaking point. If anything, it adds character. There are a few books I own that I would never dream of breaking the spine of, but I buy most my books second hand, so usually the spine is already broken, and I don’t have to be the monster that actually commits the crime – just the accomplice.

11. Do you write in your books?
Absolutely. There are some I won’t write in, like the whole spine bending thing (these include my Harry Potter books), but most books I have no qualms about writing in. I actually wrote an entire blog post dedicated to this topic. If you’re interested in reading more about my thoughts on the topic of annotation, click here.

Thanks for stopping by, and also, if you’ve gotten this far, for reading. I loved this tag, so thanks again Summer for tagging me! As always, here are the following thinks to my other social media platforms. Never hesitate to follow or stop by for a chat! Tumblr, Goodreads, Instagram.

Now I tag:

@headinthecloudsheartinthebooks
Klinta @bookowly
Evie @justanotherbelle
Ashley @wordsweheart
Erika and Miedjel @partnersinbooks
Camyll @camyllreads
Syc @thelitmermaid

I also tag anyone who I missed who wants to do this lovely tag! Please feel free to say you were tagged my be 🙂

8 thoughts on “The Reading Habits Tag

  1. TEN BOOKS? That’s ridiculous Ashley! XD And if you like sharing your bookmarks, you should totally make a bookmarks post if you ever have the time. I’d love to see them. And thank you for participating! As always, I love reading your answers and learning more about you. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know; I’m crazy! They’re all from drastically different genres, though, so it’s easy to keep them separate. But, I really just need to take a day and finish a bunch that I have started! That’s an awesome idea about the bookmark post. I do have some pretty cool ones, so I think I’ll definitely have to do that sometime soon!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

