The Truth is a Cave in the Black Mountains by Neil Gaiman Illustrated by Eddie Campbell

4/5 Stars

Hey everyone! If this is up, I’ve come across more wifi here in Venice. Go ahead and assume my trip is going well, because I’m positive it surely must be! I will be heading to Switzerland tomorrow, and then back into Germany to fly home. Anyway, that information is not why you’re here. You’re here because I am posting yet another book review. Today’s book review is of the second Neil Gaiman novel I’ve ever read. I came across this one at the library and just had to check it out.

In this short little illustrated book, Gaiman weaves a story of magic, treasure, greed, revenge, and many more other worldly elements. We are taken on a journey that doesn’t come full circle until the end. The story is accompanied by illustrations done by Eddie Campbell. His pictures truly bring the story to life. This is a very short story, only lengthened because of the illustrations. But, absolutely a compelling tale, no doubt.

I read this short story in a matter of a few hours, including distractions. It was a short read, but not necessarily an easy one. There were times when the story was confusing in a good way. This is a story that you really have to think about to be able to connect all the pieces together. There is also a heaping pile of ideas beneath the surface to dig up and dissect. Don’t get me wrong, the surface story is great. But, all the extra story underneath makes it even better.

Gaiman’s writing did not let me down. The only other text I have read by him is Fortunately, The Milk. But, I can still honestly say that I am falling in love with this man’s writing. He is able to weave a story that is compelling and keeps me flipping page after page to find out what’s going to happen at the end. His stories are intricate with beautiful prose. I am exited to continue to read more of his works in the future.

Campbell’s illustrations, as I already stated in the synopsis, only enhance the story. His pictures are fresh and unique. He brings something to the table that I haven’t seen much before. I especially like that his illustrations were created for adults. This is a very adult book with adult concepts. Even though it may appear as if it were made for children, the themes are definitely not for young children. So, what we have, is an illustrated book that was made for adults. This is an exceptionally neat idea that you don’t see around too often.

Overall, I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes Neil Gaiman, illustrated stories, stories with a dark nature, and/or stories that are more than what they appear. Also to those of you who like short tales, since this less than 100 pages. Definitely go out and get ahold of this book if my review sparked your interest!

Now, I’m going to be even more sporadic with posts next week, if I even get anything published. I am flying home on Monday, will be recovering Tuesday, and then work long days Wednesday-Friday, so I’ll have to play it by ear to see what I’m up for! I’m sure I’ll take a short break from books to talk about my trip? Maybe. I don’t know if anyone would actually be interested. But, if I do do that, I promise I’ll keep it to one post. See you all again soonish! Check out my other social media pages to keep up to date with what I’m up to: Tumblr, Goodreads, Instagram.

2 thoughts on “The Truth is a Cave in the Black Mountains by Neil Gaiman Illustrated by Eddie Campbell

  1. I’ve wanted to read this for a while! And I’m so happy you enjoyed it! You should read more of him. I’ve read Fortunately, the Milk and The Ocean at the End of the Lane. I started Good Omens and Neverwhere but got distracted. He’s so great! 🙂 Enjoy the rest of your trip!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was definitely a very cool, interesting read! I’ve also read Fortunately, the Milk and absolutely loved it! I will without a doubt be reading more of him! I have American Gods and will hopefully get around to it soon!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

