Top Ten Tuesday

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday brought to bloggers by The Broke and the Bookish and brought to all my readers by me from Venice, Italy this week! If everything is going well, I am currently perhaps taking a gondola ride or strolling down a cozy street. But anyway, that’s beside the point. This week’s topic is top ten favorite fairytale retellings you’ve read, want to read, or fairytales you want to be retold. I love fairytales and have read many of Hans Christian Anderson’s and all of Grimm’s (A sight on the trip I’m currently on is the black forest – we’ll be driving through it – which is what most of Grimm’s fairytales were based on!), but I have not read many retellings. Not that I don’t want to. That’s not the case at all. It’s just there are so many books and so little time. So, here are ten fairytale retellings that I need to read at some point!

ONE

beastly

I own a copy of this one, I just haven’t gotten around to it yet (an autobiography by me), but I really do need to. I actually own this movie, and, although many people don’t like the movie, I am not one of them. I really enjoyed it and can’t wait to read the book, because it has to be even better, right?

TWO

cinder

I know, I know. How have I not read these books? I need to get on that soon! I’ve heard really good things, so I’m really excited for this series.

THREE

uglystepsister

I read Wicked back in high school and can’t say that I was exceptionally wowed with the text, but I also saw the play of it down in Chicago for my 17th birthday and that wowed me beyond belief. So, I think I should give the text a revisit and a second chance. The rest of Maguire’s books, like the one displayed above, are also on my TBR.

FOUR

bloodychamber

So, I have already read this short little book full of fairytale retellings, but I read it for a class that I wasn’t particular fond of (and that’s phrasing it nicely). I’m really thinking that the class swayed my rating beyond all reason. I gave it one star, but I really need to revisit these stories, because I honestly think I was giving the class one star and not this book.

FIVE

sistersred

This retelling definitely sounds interesting and has been on my to-read for quite awhile. I’ll get around to in one of these days. Like all the other books I’ll get around to one of these days.

SIX

redridinghood

This is another one that I already own, but haven’t gotten around to reading yet. Also another one, like Beastly, that I own the movie of. I did really like this movie and loved the plot twist at the end. I don’t think that will have ruined the book for me, though, so I am still excited to read this one.

SEVEN

peterpan

I read a review of this by a blogger I follow and hadn’t heard about it before. But, from her review, I knew I had to add this one onto my TBR. It sounds very cool.

EIGHT

tigerlily

Another Peter Pan retelling. This one is told from the perspective of, you guessed it, Tiger Lily. Who was there for Peter before Wendy, but then is shunted to the side by the boy who refuses to grow up. This was recommended to me by a friend, and I am absolutely looking forward to it.

NINE

crewel

Although I’ve read/heard mixed reviews about this one, I am excited to read it for myself, but I will be keeping my expectations in check so they don’t get too high on me.

TEN

thewrathanddawn

Does this one count as a fairytale retelling? I don’t know if 1,001 Nights (also known as Arabian Nights) counts as a fairytale. The stories are Middle Eastern, and West and South Asia Folktales, so I’m going to say that counts. But, either way, this is getting included because I need to read this book ASAP. I’ve been putting it off for far too long and will probably get my hands on a copy as soon as I get home from this trip!

Well, there they are. The top ten fairytale retellings I absolutely must read! What was on your list this week? Did I miss any really good ones? I’m still abroad, but feel free to still check out my other social media links here: Tumblr, Goodreads, Instagram. I will be back in full swing on them in no time!

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. OMG finally someone who hasn’t read the Lunar Chronicles. But we are clearly in the minority here since it seems like EVERYONE has read them.
    I have Crewel but I had no idea it was a retelling.
    I hope you enjoy The Wrath and the Dawn! It met all my expectations and left me with a whole lot of feels. Hope you enjoy it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know! I really should read the Lunar Chronicles soon! I’m way behind on that bandwagon. I’m so excited for The Wrath and the Dawn. I’ve heard nothing but good things! I just got back from a long vacation, so I think I’ll try and get my hands on it within the next week or two!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

