Musings Monday

It’s been a few weeks since I’ve done a Musings Monday. I haven’t had too much extra time lately, so putting together something to muse about has been just a smidge too much work for me. But, since I’m writing all these blog posts ahead of time as I lie awake worrying about and full of crazy good jitters for my trip, this is the perfect type of thing to take my mind off of all that. So, this week’s Musings Monday is focused on that sad and, for some people, horrific moment that you can’t bring yourself to finish a book.

I’ve read a couple books this last month that I haven’t been able or have struggled to finish, so I thought it would be a good topic to bring to the table. I used to be one of those people who were horrified when they couldn’t finish a book. I used to be so ashamed, so broken down by the thought of putting a book down half way through and not being able to count it as being read. But, then I started to realize that just because I can’t finish a book that’s not right for me, doesn’t make me any less of a reader.

I was humiliated by the fact that I, an avid and avaricious reader couldn’t finish a simple book. But, after this revelation that enjoying a book is way more important than just finishing books for the sake of finishing them, I am okay with it. Don’t get me wrong; it is still hard. But I am okay at it, and getting better with practice. I used to never put down a book until it was finished, now I have little problem quitting half way through. The most recent book I did this with was Beautiful Darkness by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl. Even though I didn’t finish this book, I did write a review that you can see here. I also almost quit reading Please do Feed the Cat by Mariam Babson, but I stuck that one out, barely. See my review of that text here.

Now that I have discovered that putting a book down does not make you a bad reading (and definitely saves you from a potential reading slump!), I am here to tell all of you that you shouldn’t feel bad either. It is very important to find a book that is right for you. This will enhance your over all reading experience and keeps the reading juices flowing. So really, when you put down a book that doesn’t interest you, you’re really protecting yourself from the dreaded reading slump that all book lovers fear and loathe. Trust me on this one, reading the right material makes all the difference in the world.

Now, this all sounds like something doable right? So you pick up that indie novel or that cheap copy of an unknown author you got at the thrift store for 85¢, and it didn’t interest you, so you put it down. That seems pretty easy. But, what happens when you don’t like a book that seems to be all the rage? What happens when everyone seems to love a book except you? I’ll tell you what happens. The same rules apply. Everyone is different and different people have different tastes. Just because something was great for someone else, or even a slew of someones else, that still doesn’t mean it’s right for you.

I read Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard and didn’t love it like everyone else. I’m seeing everyone anticipating the release of the next book in the series, but I’m not one who’s sitting on the edge of her seat waiting in agony for it. Now, this may be a bad example, since I did actually finish the book, but it is a good example that not everyone is floored by the same thing. If you’re interested in my thoughts on Red Queen, you can click here.

However, a popular book that I actually did not finish was Fifty Shades of Gray. That is one that I put down after a mere 50 pages. I couldn’t do it. It was definitely not the book for me.

That book was a little bit harder to put down because a few of my friends were reading it, meaning they gave me a really hard time for not liking it. When a friend recommends you a book and you don’t like it, it’s so hard to tell them that you couldn’t get into or, especially, that you couldn’t finish it. But, if they really are your friends, they will not get to upset about it. Like I said above, everyone is different, sometimes even your closest friends. I have had friends not like stuff that I have recommended and yes, it kind of sucks at first, but you learn to deal with it and accept your friend’s opinion.

So, to conclude, even though it is really, really hard sometimes, you absolutely can put down that book that you are not enjoying. You are allowed to save yourself from that reading slump looming around the corner. You are allowed to enjoy the books that you are reading. You don’t owe anybody anything. Read what is best for you, and put down what is not. Never feel guilty. Ever.

Now that that’s wrapped up, here’s just a bit of where I’m at. It’s day 3 of my vacation today (counting my flight day), and I am still in Munich, but tomorrow I will be traveling to Venice via Austria. I am excited to get to a new place and I am hoping I will have the opportunity to post the Top Ten Tuesday I have laid out for this week! As always here are my social media links that you can reach me at: Tumblr, Goodreads, Instagram. I’m still going to be out of touch for about 7 days, but definitely feel free to stop by and follow, add, or leave me a message!

Leave a Reply

