Night of the Living Deadpool by Cullen Bunn

5/5 Stars

Hey everyone. Just a heads up that this might be my last post for the next couple weeks. I’m taking a trip to Europe (Germany, Italy, and Switzerland), and I leave on Saturday! I’m from Wisconsin in the United States and will not be taking my laptop along with me, nor will I have time to write blog posts while I’m on vacation. I’m thinking I might write up next week’s posts today and then I can always publish them on my phone if I can find some decent wifi and time, but that’s not looking super prosperous. Point of this being, if you try to reach me or wonder where my weekly posts are, fret not, I’m just off enjoying an adventure and will be back in no time!

Now, onto today’s review, which I am exceptionally excited about, because I absolutely loved this Deadpool comic. If you haven’t figured out already, probably by how much I talk about The Walking Dead, I am a zombie freak and so I just had to get my hands on this issue. How could I not? I was trying not to get my hopes up too high, since I had read some mixed reviews of this comic, but I have to say that this story soared beyond everything I hoped it would be.

So, what has Deadpool gotten himself in this time? After gorging himself on all you can eat Chimichangas at a local mexican restaurant, Deadpool wakes up out of a 3 day food coma to discover the zombie apocalypse is upon him. He quickly figures out what is going on, but these zombies have a bit of a twist to them. They are stuck on repeat, speaking their last memories and voicing their anguish at having to devour living human flesh. Deadpool finds himself in a few situations that are similar to some other pop culture zombie references you might recognize.

As you can tell from my excited, and slightly, okay, incredibly positive opinion-swayed description, this book has something for both casual zombie fans as well as die hards (haha) like myself. The references this book has are awesome. There’s definitely a lot of Walking Dead ones, but also some classic references and even a few to Zombieland. But, I won’t ruing them all for you and will let you discover them for yourself as you read.

On top of the usual humor that revolves around Deadpool, and don’t worry this text definitely has tons of great humor (It even had me laughing out loud a good amount.), this story has just that, a story. I really enjoyed the storyline of this comic and liked very much how it was executed. It was a cool, believable idea that was similar to previous zombie creations and yet still completely unique. The ending is also pretty fantastic. It left me with a huge smile on my face. There was absolutely nothing I didn’t like about this comic.

Seriously, nothing. I give this comic 5 glowing stars. The writing was great, the artwork was phenomenal, the story was fantastic. I loved everything. I highly recommend this to anyone who likes comics, is wanting to start reading some Deadpool comics (As long as you can handle the horror aspect this one presents. If horror/zombies is/are not your things, this won’t be either.), is already into Deadpool but hasn’t read this comic, and absolutely to anyone who is a zombie fan. You will not be disappointed.

Thanks for reading. As always, I’m always here to chat/interact anytime (except next week!), so here of my other social media links as well: Tumblr, Goodreads, Instagram. Stop by any time!

2 thoughts on “Night of the Living Deadpool by Cullen Bunn

Leave a Reply

