Top Ten Tuesday

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday hosted by The Broke and the Bookish is top ten books that celebrate diversity and/or diverse/minority characters. So, let’s get started. I am all about diversity, so I am ready to go find some phenomenal books I’ve read that focus on diversity.

ONE

arianddante

Of course this book had to make the list. How could it not! This celebrates both LGBT characters that are also Mexican-American. Two underrepresented minorities in one, and Sáenz writes about them perfectly. See my review here to read more of my praise for this book.

TWO

godofsmallthings

This is a book that focusses on a family, mainly a set of twins as they grow up in a small community in India. I read this book for a diversity class when I was in school and it was weird for me at first, but after finishing and writing a paper on it, I found myself completely in love with this book. It’s, in my opinion, a highly important text and definitely belongs on this list.

THREE

farmingofbones

Another important text I read in that diversity class I took. This book takes place on the border of Haiti and the Dominican Republic. It follows a woman who is struggling to find where she belongs and also struggling with much larger issues as well. A heartbreaking read, but one I recommend none the less.

FOUR

persepolesembroideries

A very cool continuing memoir that takes us through Satrapi’s life from childhood when she was growing up in Iran during the Islamic Revolution to adulthood and discussing the hardships of arranged marriages and the effects they had on women in Satrapi’s life. I still have to read the second installment of Persepolis, but I highly highly recommend the other two installments in her memoir I’ve read.

FIVE

parttimeindian

A fictional tale based on Alexie’s experiences growing up on the Spokane Indian Reservation. This is a heartbreaking and also inspirational story concerning the challenges of growing up on an Indian Reservation and how hard it is to break free of the lifestyle society has forced on these people. Even though it’s YA, this book is a must read for all.

SIX

funhome

Bechdel’s “tragicomic,” as she calls it, focuses on her struggle with coming to terms that she was a lesbian throughout her childhood and young/early adult years, the challenges that her lifestyle (I in no way mean this in a derogatory way) presented, and how she came to terms with who she is. A great read in a very unique format.

SEVEN

monster

I read this awhile ago, and can’t say that I was floored by this novel. BUT, I think I need to go back and reread it, since I read it for a class and started it the night before I was supposed to have it finished, forcing me to rush through it. I remember this book doing some great things. So I think it is absolutely on I need to revisit.

EIGHT

childrenshour

Okay, so it’s not a book, per say. It’s a script. But this is a very moving script indeed. This story focusses on two schoolteachers who run a school for girls and happen to be lesbians. I believe this takes place in the 50s? I adored this read, and even though it’s a bit dated, it’s still a very good analysis. I would love to actually see this onstage!

NINE

hawkeyetwd

Okay, so, I haven’t read any Hawkeye comics except Hawkeye vs. Deadpool but I think it’s very cool that Clint Barton is deaf without his hearing aids and that HvD actually has scenes that sign language is being spoken. I put The Walking Dead comic alongside this one because I didn’t want to make this list 11 instead of 10, and I also like that TWD deals with disability. So I decided to put these two side by side. I really like *spoiler alert* (highlight for text to appear) that Rick gets his hand cut off and it barely affects his role in the group.Everyone still respects him and he still plays a vital part. There are also other instances of disabilities represented in this comic series, including mental health. So yea, I love these comics and think they play a great role in diversity.

TEN

harry-potter-books

How could I not list the Harry Potter books! Even though there is not much actual explicit diversity of things such as skin color, heritage, or sexual preference, there is an overall tone of acceptance and tolerance. That’s honestly what I feel this whole series is about. Growing up in a household that has been pretty racist and homophobic, these are the books that first introduced me to tolerance and treating everyone equally. After all, it’s statistically proven that the readers of the Harry Potter generation are much more liberal. So, yes, I had to include this series.

Well, that went way more in depth than I planned. But I really enjoyed this Top Ten Tuesday and loved looking back on all the great diversity/minority books I’ve read through the years. I am so happy that diversity is becoming more and more popular, as it very well should! Hope you enjoyed this list as much as I did. As always, here are my other links. Stop by and follow, add, or chat: Tumblr, Goodreads, Instagram.

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

Leave a Reply

