Sunday Review

Hey everyone! Sorry I’m getting this out so late. It’s been another busy weekend/week, but at least I’m actually posting this on Sunday and not Monday. It’s been really slow for reading this week. But it’s been good in a few other aspects, like, really good. So, here is how pathetic last week was when it came to books.

BLOG POSTS

Reviewed: Hellboy Volume 1: Seed of Destruction by Mike Mignola
Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Most Hyped Books I Haven’t Read

FINISHED
Beautiful Darkness by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl (Kind Of)

CURRENTLY READING
The Martian by Andy Wier
Dark Places by Gillian Flynn
Full Dark, No Stars by Stephen King
Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor
Selected Poems of Elizabeth Brewster by Elizabeth Brewster
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling
Moby Dick by Herman Melville

TRIPS TO THE ONLINE BOOKSTORE
1

TOTAL BOUGHT
Night of the Living Deadpool by Cullen Bunn and Ramon Rosanas

BOOKISH NEWS

So, I didn’t finish anything this week. I know I put Beautiful Darkness under finished, but I didn’t finish it. I was just finished with it. I tried. I really did, but the book was definitely not my cup of tea. I will write a full review where I write in detail why exactly I didn’t like it, but for now I’ll just say that it was a bit torturous to read.

I also had to stop reading Bloody Mary The Remarkable Life of Mary Tudor by Carolly Erickson because it was due back at the library. I was mostly enjoying that one, so I might recheck it out in the near future to try and actually finish it. It could be kind of dry, and I found some of what the author was talking about to be irrelevant. But, it was still filled with lots of cool information about the first queen of England.

On a more positive note, I started reading The Martian this week and am really loving it so far. The protagonist’s sense of humor is on point for me, and I love science fiction, so the book is going really well. I’m actually way more impressed than I thought I would be (but I am not only half way through).

OTHER NEWS

I don’t usually include an “other news” section, but this week I just had to. This last week was the county fair and we had some pretty cool bands come to little old Jefferson, Wisconsin. So, on top of getting free tickets to see Grace Potter and Neil Young last Sunday (which was just amazing amazing), I got to see, for the second time, AND meet Trick Pony. I really love them, so I was ecstatic to meet them and get their autographs. I’ve only met one other major band before, which was Switchfoot, and I’m not even a huge fan of them. So, it was pretty damn cool to meet a band I seriously love. But that’s not all folks. This happened on Friday and then last night I got to see Joan Jett and the Blackhearts! Didn’t get to meet them, but seeing them was a religious experience for me. I still can’t believe it. So, yes it’s been a slow week for books, but it’s been a great week for actually going out, being social, and experiencing life for a bit!

Leave a Reply

