Madeleine L’Engle’s A Wrinkle in TIme Adapted by Hope Larson

5/5 Stars

I found this book at the library when I checked out Spider-Girl Volume 1: Like Father, Like Daughter, but didn’t check it out since I didn’t want to overdo it on books I took home (something I definitely did this last time, woops). So, the next time I went I was glad that it was still there just waiting for me. I read A Wrinkle in Time freshman year of high school, or it might have been 8th grade – I can’t remember exactly. And, this book hit me really hard. I highly recommend the original text version of this book as well as this version. It’s very short and a quick read. I read it in an hour or two. But, that’s not what I’m hear to talk about. So, back to the graphic novel adaptation.

This is a sci-fi based book that focusses around a family of six, mainly focusses on two of the children – Meg and Charles Wallace. The premise of this book is exceptionally hard to explain, but I’ll try to sum it up in a few sentences here. Meg’s father and mother are scientists. Her father has been working for the government, but has recently gone missing. So three dead stars come and take Meg, her youngest brother Charles Wallace, and her new friend Calvin O’Keefe on a journey through space and time via wormholes to save her father from the recent trouble he has encountered. Along the way they discover the meanings of bravery, friendship, a love.

This is definitely a sci-fi based book, so if this is not your cup of tea, then this may not be for you. It’s amazing now that I’ve fully embraced my immense liking of sci-fi how much sci-fi I’ve actually read without even acknowledging it as sci-fi at the time. Anyway, if this is the type of story you like or are interested in, you will most likely enjoy this book. It’s got action, adventure, and strong character and plot development. It will take you a journey you were not expecting, or maybe you are now that I told you a bit about it. I had no idea what I was in store for when I first read the original text since I had barely heard of it before my friend gave me an extra copy of hers. But, for this adaptation I knew exactly what was in store and was exceedingly excited to see how Larson adapted the story to include image.

I was not disappointed. The image incorporation to the text really just took the story to the next level for me. I was so looking forward to see how Larson designed the different worlds and different beings. She did not let me down in any way. The story unfolds even more beautifully than I ever thought it could. I found myself stopping to appreciate everything I already loved that she brought to life.

The writing is directly taken from L’Engle’s classic, at least I believe it is. So, I was worried that it wouldn’t translate well, since the story has been around for quite awhile. I was afraid it would turn out like the graphic novel adaptation of Fahrenheit 451 where it sort of worked, but was a bit lacking. I did not find that to be the case in Larson’s adaptation. I thought everything meshed well and flowed really nicely in graphic novel format.

This story has some really strong characters, including some strong female ones. I looked up to Meg when I first read this, since she was around my age, not conventionally smart, and described as not pretty. Despite all this, she was the main character and a very strong one. Meg is phenomenal, but the other characters are just as lovely. They all work together to make a great team. This story is really about overcoming self doubt and differences in order to live harmoniously and love what each type of person has to offer.

Along with having strong leads, this story also offers some life lessons that still rang true for me today at 23. I found my second reading of this text allowed me to re-experience some of those lessons and also pick up on a few more I didn’t originally catch. This is truly a story for any age. There are also a bounteous amount of literary references. If you like this type of thing, you will definitely like how they appear in this story. The one I noticed upon my re-read was that Calvin keeps saying “Old Sport.” I hadn’t read Gatsby before my first reading of this story, so that was a cool thing to catch this time around. Another unique thing about this story that I like is that it puts science and religion right alongside each other and has them exist harmoniously without forcing or even encouraging the reader to take sides. I thought this was a very cool aspect of this little novel (both the original and graphic version).

Overall, this novel – both graphic and original – is one of my favorite texts. This kind of turned into a combination of a review of both the graphic novel and the original text, but I’m okay with that. I hope you were too. I definitely recommend both versions of this story and especially highly recommend them if you’re into the sci-fi scene. I’m so, so glad I was presented the opportunity to revisit this story and for it to have been in such a beautiful adaptation.

Thanks for stopping by and reading. Hope this review was helpful, in some way anyway. As always, please never hesitate to follow/add/contact me at Tumblr, Goodreads, and Instagram.

One thought on “Madeleine L’Engle’s A Wrinkle in TIme Adapted by Hope Larson

Leave a Reply

