Top Ten Tuesday

First of all, congrats to The Broke and the Bookish for having been running the meme Top Ten Tuesday for 5 years now! That is seriously an amazing achievement. I applaud them for putting out new topics each week for themselves and others to participate in. Top Ten Tuesday is a great meme that brings bloggers together. For this week, the topic is top ten favorite top ten Tuesday categories. Now, I haven’t been doing Top Ten Tuesday for very long at all, so for me to pick my top ten favorite topics would just be me listing the only topics I’ve done.

In leu of that topic, I chose a topic that The Broke and the Bookish has had on as one of their topics in the past 5 years. Since I’m feeling inspired by the trip I will be taking in August, I will be listing my top ten favorite books about traveling and/or grand adventures.

ONE

wild

If you’ve been following my blog awhile, you will know how endless my praise for this book is. Cheryl Strayed embarks on a find-yourself journey of backpacking the Pacific Crest Trail in California where she finds not only how unprepared she was for such a dramatic trip, but also herself, the one that she never really new existed before her journey.

TWO

thelittleprince

Definitely a favorite. What’s not to love about this heartbreaking little book? The Little Prince definitely holds a soft spot in my heart and is a tale of a very grand adventure indeed.

THREE

treasureisland

A book I didn’t think I’d like as much as I did. I never read this one as a kid, but adored the movie The Muppets Treasure Island, so, when I found this at a thrift store for 15 cents, I obviously couldn’t say no. I had to find out for myself. And I fell in love quickly and urgently.

FOUR

hitchhikersguide

Another book that I absolutely adore. This is 100% a grand adventure that is very much worth having. There is also plenty of traveling in this little book, although not really much around earth, but, in my defense, I never specified on where the traveling and/or adventuring had to be taking place.

FIVE

thehistorian

This is the second time this book has graced one of my Top Ten Tuesday lists. Can you tell I really like it? This is guaranteed to satisfy both a hankering for traveling and also for vampires, Dracula in specific.

SIX

aliceinwonderland

Of course Alice had to make her appearance on this list. What grander adventure could you ask for than taking a trip down the rabbit hole? I adore this story. So much so that my best friend just bought me the Barnes & Noble collector’s edition, because she just loves me that much. (A link to her social media connections and also to the BN edition can be found on this last week’s Sunday Review)

SEVEN

wrinkleintime

Yet another story that doesn’t quite involve traveling or a grand adventure here on earth, but a touching adventure none the less. I read this book my Freshman year of high school when my closest friend at the time gave me one of her extra copies. I recently revisited the story in the Graphic Novel adaptation and fell in love all over again. This story is a grand adventure, indeed.

EIGHT

fellowshipofring

Another amazing adventure, and amazing story. As you can see, I accidentally started to stray from the idea of actual traveling, and my obsession with good Fantasy/Sci-Fi novels has surfaced. I honestly didn’t mean for this Top Ten Tuesday to take this drastic turn, but there’s nothing to do now but embrace it.

NINE

onlyhumandoctorwho

Fantasy and Sci-Fi, Fantasy and Sci-Fi – the trend continues. I love this story. It is absolutely phenomenal. It might be because I’m so crazy about Doctor Who, but this is certainly a charming tale and jam packed with adventure.

TEN

vampirehunter

Another vampire tale to curb your craving. I really enjoyed this novel. It’s not what I was expecting, but I really liked the subtlety of the way Grahame-Smith weaves the story of vampires into the actual known history of Abraham Lincoln. This is a great read and another adventure you won’t soon forget.

So, there you have it. Although it took a drastic turn from what I first had in mind, if you are looking for a good adventure story, I hop you found one. I want to say congrats one more time to The Broke and the Bookish and thank them for providing such fun and interesting topics. Also, a big thank you to all you reading this post. As always, here are my other social media links: Tumblr, Goodreads, Instagram.

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. I loved The Little Prince. One of my all-time favorites; though I have yet to read it in English. The book has some great philosophies. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. H2G2 is one of my favorite books/series. I found it as a child, re-read it over the years, slowly getting more of the humor as I grew up. It may have warped me permanently, but that’s okay–I know the answer to Life, the Universe, and Everything. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

