Musings Monday

So, there I was. At the used bookstore. In the comics section just minding my own business and seeing if any titles jumped out to me. I had waited my turn, waited for the two guys over there to finish their browsing and free up some space for me. It was all fine. I was having a swell time. Then, out of nowhere. I was being swarmed. Three guys had come out of nowhere and were doing their best to slowly push me out of their way. And that’s not to mention all the tension that had materialized to surround us, or mainly, I guess, me. It didn’t take long for them to pressure me out of the comic section without even saying a single word. It’s like the three of them subconsciously ganged up against me because their territory was being threatened. So, I decided to just forget it, since I didn’t see anything I specifically wanted, except a Doctor Who book that was on the border of the Sci-Fi Fantasy section and the Comic section. I defiantly grabbed it as I sauntered off to what I’m sure was a silent celebration of victory.

Now, I’m not trying to over emphasize the sexism that surrounds the genre of comics, I’m simply stating my experience and how unwelcome I felt in this specific setting and in this type of setting in general. Which, honestly sucks because I do read a lot of comics and they’re way to expensive to always order online instead of buying them used. I was especially frustrated since when I was waiting for the two guys to be done to free up some space (the section is really small, and I hate being uncomfortably close to people), they gave each other plenty of room. I don’t understand why I should have been any different. I wish it were common knowledge that many girls like comics too and are not just wasting time or trying to look impressive by casually browsing the section. Let me repeat that for those in the back: WOMEN LIKE COMICS TOO. This has been a PSA.

So, where do I exactly want to go with this article. I guess I just want to make sure you know it’s okay that you can like what you like and shouldn’t have to worry about being shamed for it (I’ve already wrote a Musings Monday similar to this), especially women who are into comics and I’m going to broaden this to include Sci-Fi/Fantasy as well since I’ve noticed this type of outcasting in that genre too. It took me so long to finally accept that I can like something without having a substantial amount of knowledge on it. Although don’t test me on some of this stuff, because I will win – a shoutout to all the guys who attack women for liking something that they consider is “for guys.” So, to all the Geek Guys who think that Fake Geek Girls exists, this one’s for you. Fake Geek Girls do no exist. Has anyone every told a guy he was a Fake Geek Guy? Cause I’ve sure never heard anyone utter that.

Ladies, you do not need to prove anything to some asshole who thinks you need to know the the birthdate of the writer of so and so comic and what song was on number one on the charts at the time. Nope. You don’t have to know anything besides the fact that you like something and therefore want to broaden your knowledge on and/or read a nice story concerning said topic you find interesting. And, you deserve every right to pursue something you’re interested in without having to worry about being attacked and forced to answer pointless trivia about it first.

Now, to all the guys out there perpetuating this Fake Geek Girl myth. STOP. You do not own this genre. You do not own these ladies. You have no right to dictate what deems someone acceptable to enter into your creepy, sexist comics and Sci-Fi treehouse. We didn’t come here for you. Stop covering up your fear of the unknown by being mean. And when I say fear, I mean your fear of women not liking you because you’re a Geek Guy so you’re trying to A. push them away before they have a chance to reject you or B. screen someone into a slew of your potential suitors, because you know you can woo her with all your extensive underground knowledge and crazy cool fedora. Trust me, women don’t care about your level of geekiness. That has nothing to do with why the don’t like you. They don’t like you because you’re being a sexist sleezeball. Also, while I’m at it. Just so ya’ll know. The Friendzone isn’t a real thing. It goes hand in hand with this topic; I felt like it needed to be said.

I want to make it perfectly clear that I am not attacking all men in general. just the men who fall under the category I’ve described above.There are plenty of guys who I can have a conversation with about my interests, and they have done nothing but get excited about this kind of shit with me. There is also this nice, but rare, example of a guy being a decent person that happened in the same used book store stated above where me and said guy were moving toward the center of the section from opposite directions and he asked if I wanted to switch sides with him once we intersected. Wow, look how easy it was for us to give each other PROPER BROWSING SPACE. Unfortunately, most of my experiences have been the first scenario I’ve described and not the second one of decent boundaries and tension-free air. So, as a disclaimer. There are plenty of good guys out there, but there are plenty of Geek Guys perpetuating the idea of Fake Geek Girls, and I’m just totally not down diggity with that.

Okay, now that I’ve rambled for a solid amount of paragraphs, I think it’s time for me to put this issue to rest. I’ve complained. I’ve gotten it off my chest. It’s out there. I’m free of my frustration. Until, you know, the next time I’m in the comic section and this starts all over again. But, until then, I’ve said what I needed to say.

Thanks for stopping by on this Monday for some of my Musings. I would say I’m sorry that I got a bit carried away with it this week, but I’m not. This is an issue that seriously irks me. Have a wonderful week everyone. Also feel free to hang out with me more on the following links: Tumblr, Goodreads, Instagram.

One thought on “Musings Monday

Leave a Reply

