Musings Monday

Hey everyone. It’s that time again. I apologize for this being posted so late at night. I had a long day at work last night and couldn’t bring myself to write this piece afterword. Then I had to work 9-5 today, so I’m just getting around to this now. Okay, but anyway, enough excuses! This week’s Musings Monday is centered around the number of books that you read and what that says about how much of a reader/bibliophile you are. I’m going to start this post off right away with an easy, simple answer to this question.

It doesn’t matter how many books you read. If you enjoy reading, congratulations, you are a reader and can identify as such.

Yes, it’s really that simple. If you enjoy reading books, it absolutely doesn’t matter how many you read. There is no set quota that you have to meet to say that you are a reader and validate yourself as a book lover. Well now, isn’t that a weight lifted? I’d sure say so. This is a topic that has been exceptionally popular on tumblr, one that I’ve especially noticed since creating my book tumblr (booklr). And, it’s a message that I strongly support and agree with.

It’s easy to feel pressure from friends who are big readers or even from the book community in general. It can feel like you are constantly behind on what is all the rage at the moment. But, that doesn’t have to have any effect on you or what and how you are reading. The only person you have to impress with your reading habits is yourself. If you’re happy with reading only one book a year, so be it. Look at you go you impressive person. You did it. You read a book.

I know, I know, it’s easier said then done (even I struggle with this topic from time to time), but practice makes it a little easier. And, will definitely make you happier. It’s like I said in last week’s edition of Musings Monday, books should bring people together, not push them apart. It makes me sad how judge-y the book community can still be sometimes, but I can also assure you that this type of thing gets easier with age. Being 23, I am more accepting of how, what, and when I read. I’ve started to care less about rude comments that people think they have the right to make concerning me and try to focus more on all the good that books bring to the community.

I’ve already sort of started to mention that genres also play into this idea, and can assure you that they have no effect on the outcome. It should not matter what you are reading. As long as you identify yourself as a reader, what you are reading is valid. Just because someone spent the last year reading Ulysses by James Joyce (An epic waste of time in my opinion – I’ve read it; I don’t see what all the fuss is about. It was mainly just a huge pain in my ass, really – Anyway.) and you read 112 romance novels, they are not better than you. I will repeat myself. They are not better than you. (see also my Musings Monday regarding high literature) Of course, this works both ways. Which is, obviously, the reason I’m writing this in the first place.

So, now that I’ve rambled in circles for a few paragraphs (I really apologize everyone, it’s been a long day), I’m going to wrap this Monday writing up. The point that I hope this post has stressed is that whatever you read, however you read, and however much you read does not determine your value as a reader. If you identify yourself as a reader, you are one. You don’t need to validate yourself to anyone. So, you lovely reader you, go forth into the book community and wave what your reading high and proud and never stop talking about how much you love books and what they mean to you.

If you made it through this jumble, I applaud and thank you. As always, here are my social media links I can be reached at: Tumblr, Goodreads, Instagram.

One thought on “Musings Monday

Leave a Reply

