Spider-Girl Volume 2: Like Father, Like Daughter by Tom DeFalco and Pat Olliffe

5/5 Stars

Wow, it’s been a week since I’ve last written a review. I missed last Thursday, which would usually be on my schedule for dropping a review because work took a lot out of me last week, and I just wasn’t feeling up to it. And, I didn’t want to get too far off the track I’m attempting to follow for releasing new blog posts. So anyway, I’ll stop babbling now and get on with it. My trip to the library two weeks ago led me to this fruitful find, and I am sure glad that I decided to take this book home with me.

This book is the second volume in the Spider-Girl Marvel series. The library didn’t have the first volume, possibly checked out, possibly not there to begin with. In this collection of comics, Spider-Girl, Peter Parker and Mary Jane Watson’s daughter, Mayday Parker, has recently reached her teen years and has discovered that she has somehow inherited her father’s abilities. The story of her first making the discovery is in the first volume, but much of it was hinted back to in this one, so I never found myself lost during the story or trying to glue big holes together. Peter has recently taken away Mayday’s costume (also in volume 1) and has told her that she cannot be a superhero. In this volume, May continues to struggle with coming to terms concerning her powers and what that means for her and the people she loves while facing an array of villains and other tests.

Now, I’m going to be completely honest with everyone right now. I have been very afraid to jump into the universe of Marvel Comics because there is just so much. I have been trying to find a place to start for a long time now, but haven’t been able to pinpoint one that is any better than the other. Plus, comics are so expensive, especially Marvel ones, and they are hard to come across at my small library. I’ve also been spending a significant of time and money on The Walking Dead comics, since I recently started those as well. Then I came across this book and was intrigued enough to say fuck it, this is where I’m starting. I’m jumping into the Marvel Comic Universe with Spider-Girl, and I’m gonna pray like hell that I picked a decent starting point.

So after giving you this whole long story spiel through a bunch of information you didn’t actually need, I can assure you that it was a good starting point. I absolutely loved this collection. The story line was phenomenal as well as the characters. The cast was diverse and, given that Mayday is a girl, highly female. This made me so unbelievably happy. I’m among all those other people who love Marvel, but definitely am not afraid to call the movies out on being generally male-focused (UM HELLO WHERE IS OUR BLACK WIDOW MOVIE PLEASE?). But, I found that this comic was a breath of fresh air, and I was absolutely meant to start here. The stars aligned and the universe said this is where you will begin, and so I have.

Not only are most of the characters female, they are also strong characters. I started fangirling within like the first ten pages of this volume, basically. I was also surprised that misogyny is tackled very well in this text, and Mayday sure doesn’t put up with anyone’s bullshit. She also blatantly calls out sexism at one point. In my head, I was screaming yass girl yasss. And to think, this was already published back in 2004.

On top of the amazing cast, the authors do an amazing job of bringing the story and stories together into something that is both enjoyable to read and look at. Everything fell into place perfectly and there is plenty of tension to keep you flipping pages. Of course you do have to be into the layout and design of how comics function, since it is a different type of storytelling than fiction writing. But, if you have been afraid to check out comics, don’t be. If you read one and you don’t like it, at least you know for sure, instead of constantly questioning yourself. And, I can assure you this would be a great place to start.

I loved everything about this collection and highly, highly recommend it to comic book lovers, fresh starters in the comic book world (especially the Marvel one), you if your comic book interests are starting to pique, or anyone who found this review helpful or interesting. I also strongly urge females to read this text. It was important for me to find this, and it might be for you to too.

Thanks for reading one and all! As always, here are the other links I can be found at: Tumblr, Goodreads, and Instagram.

2 thoughts on “Spider-Girl Volume 2: Like Father, Like Daughter by Tom DeFalco and Pat Olliffe

Leave a Reply

