Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451 The Authorized Adaption by Tim Hamilton

4/5 Stars

Wow, sorry everyone that this is getting posted so late tonight. I’ve spent most of my day at the thrift store not being able to control myself around cheap books and booking a flight to Orlando for a reunion with one of my best friends at Harry Potter world. I am geeking and finding it hard to concentrate on edits for this review, so I am sorry for that as well.

This is another book that was recommended to me by my wonderful friend April. You can find links to her Tumblr and Goodreads in my review of Ghost World. This review will be on the shorter side, since I don’t have a whole lot to say about this book.

This is an authorized graphic novel adaption of the novel Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury. If you have not read Fahrenheit 451, I highly, highly recommend that you do. It can be a bit dry, but it is a fantastic book. This is a book about firemen, only, firemen no longer put out fires; they start them. Books have been banned and are illegal to own or have in your possession in any way, since society has taken a turn for brainwashed bliss and immediate gratification. Montage lives with his wife, who has just tried to commit suicide (in this supposed to be perfect and blissful society if you catch my drift) and recently met a young girl, his new neighbor, who ponders and questions everything the world offers to her. She spurs something in Montage that he cannot define and everything goes downhill (or uphill really) from there.

The graphic novel adaptation is not a rewritten story; it is simply a condensation of Bradbury’s book. The writing is taken directly from his text and this makes some if it a little awkward in the new format, but the story still flows very well and is still just as heart wrenching. I love this story, so was already pretty biased going into this graphic novel, but I can say that I was not disappointed in any way. I wasn’t really pleasantly surprised either, but, like I said, I’m partial to this text and already love it so much that the only thing that could have drastically changed my view of this story is if the graphic novel was utterly butchered. But, thank god, it wasn’t.

The only other thing I really want to say about this book is that the pictures are GORGEOUS. They really fit well with the story and bring Bradbury’s writing to life. I absolutely loved the illustrations and highly recommend this graphic novel to anyone who likes the original text, classics, graphic novels, and/or exceptionally adores books.

Thanks for reading and putting up with my mind that’s spinning and unable to focus. As always make sure to follow me on Tumblr, Instagram, or add me on Goodreads. And always feel free to interact with me. I love talking to everyone!

3 thoughts on “Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451 The Authorized Adaption by Tim Hamilton

Leave a Reply

