Ghost World by Daniel Clowes

4/5 Stars

I’ve recently been getting back into reading graphic novels/comics again, only with more commitment than when I was in high school and was still afraid of being called a fake geek girl, even though fake geek girls definitely don’t exist. Let me repeat myself: FAKE GEEK GIRLS DO NOT EXIST. You are allowed to like what you like and read what you want to read regardless of your depth of knowledge on the subject. Okay, now that that little rant is over, on with my review. I was recommended this book by my lovely friend April (check her out here, here, and/or here). I didn’t really know what I was getting into, since I hadn’t read up on or heard anything about this story before I borrowed it from the library based on April’s recommendation. So, I dove right in and was pleasantly surprised.

This is a story about a girl, Enid, who is a bit of a loner, at least that’s how she came off to me. Enid is struggling with coming of age and how that is affecting her friendship with Becky. The two are trying to figure out their futures and if each other will be in it. They also deal with the pressures that young girls face in society. Said to be semi-autobiographical, this story follows Enid through her town and what her future may hold.

This story was put together superbly. Everything flowed very nicely, and it’s easy to connect with the characters. They’re personalities are fully developed, and you can’t help but feel for what they are going through. The writing is also lovely. Since graphic novels focus almost entirely on dialogue and the context of the drawings, it really does take talent to mesh these two on harmonious levels to make a story come together. Creating this book definitely took skill, and there is no question that Clowes possesses it. Everything comes together perfectly to unfold a heart wrenching story that anyone who is going through or remembers what it was like to go through those tricky young adult years.

I would honestly recommend this short novel to anyone, but especially to people who have an interest in graphic novels and also to those fascinated by what it’s like to be a women at such a tender age. I know this has been a short review, but if I have piqued your interest at all, you should definitely pick up a copy of this novel. As always, thanks for reading and be sure to stop by and check out my Tumblr. page and feel free to add me on Goodreads.

5 thoughts on “Ghost World by Daniel Clowes

  1. I had completely forgotten about this. I love graphic novels and this has been on my to-read for too long. I just need to read it already! Thanks for the reminder that it exists!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

