Top Ten Tuesday

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday sponsored by The Broke and the Bookish is Ten Books You Will Probably Never Read. This will most likely be a tough one for me to come up with, since I have a pretty open mind when it comes to reading. I’ll devour just about anything as long as it’s well written with an intriguing story line. But, here goes anyway – in no particular order like always.

ONE

afairwelltoarms

And just about anything else by Earnest Hemingway. I have read his short story “Hills Like White Elephants” and didn’t think it was terrible. I mostly liked the idea and layout of it. I have also read The Old Man and the Sea and didn’t see what all the hype was about. I find Hemingway to be mediocre at best. His writing is dry, and I can’t quite get passed his horrible personality to be able to enjoy his works. I have a copy of A Farewell to Arms only because I paid a whopping 75 cents for a pretty old hardcover copy of it, but I will most likely never pick it up and actually read it.

TWO

finneganswake

I have read Joyce’s short story “Araby” and thought that was decent. I liked the themes and the writing and wouldn’t mind reading his collected stories Dubliners. But, I have also read Ulysses and can’t say I enjoyed that one as much. In my opinion, it was a surmountable waste of time, and I do not wish to go through that again. Before I took my British Modernism class I was determined to read and enjoy both Ulysses and Finnegans Wake but, after persevering through Ulysses, I have taken Finnegans Wake off my to-read list.

THREE

infinitejest

As much as I find David Foster Wallace intriguing, I don’t think I will ever get around to reading this one. I have read shorter works and essays from him and have watched interviews and videos with and about him, but I don’t think I will open Infinite Jest. It’s on my to-read list; however, I think it’s one that might stay there forever.

FOUR

thehost

Absolutely not. I have way too many issues with Stephanie Meyer to ever pick up something she writes again. Even though I have been told by friends that this book is much better than Twilight, I know I will never pick it up. I just can’t bring myself to support Meyer. Plus, she once insulted The Princess Bride and said Buttercup was a weak character. Sorry, but no.

FIVE

beowulf

I always wanted to read this book and prove all the people who hate this book wrong, because I always have a weird determination to do that with books that receive a general consensus of bad reviews. But, I don’t think I will actually ever pick this book up. I am starting to come to terms with the fact that this book will most likely not be worth my time, and there are so many books deserving of my time I want to get through.

SIX

eldest

I read the first book in this series in high school and then re-read it in a few years ago in hopes of continuing the series, but I haven’t yet. Eragon wasn’t a horrible book or anything, I just never really got into. I can’t say what it is. I always think of picking up a copy of this when I’m at Half Priced Books, but never do. I always tell myself I’ll get a copy of it when I find it at a thrift store, but haven’t found one yet. I’m just not exceedingly inclined to read this book for some reason. Maybe someday I’ll borrow a copy from the library and actually read it, but probably not.

SEVEN

oedipusrex

I know everything that happens in this play. I have never read this play. But I can tell you the plot and the series of events that unfold during this tragedy. I studied English Literature as part of my major and as my minor during college and have taken classes that referenced this play on many occasions. It’s not that I don’t find it intriguing and enticing, it’s that I already know so much about it that I don’t ever feel an exceptionally strong pull to read it, no matter how many times I tell myself I should.

EIGHT

marleyandme

NOPE. NOPE. NOPE. I watched the movie one time and bawled like a baby while hugging my dog and telling her how much I loved her. The feels that this movie gave me are ones that I cannot handle to participate in again. Especially since we had a yellow lab, so Marley even looked like my dog. I resonated with that movie on a exceedingly personal level a few years after watvhing it when we had to put our dog down because she had gotten so old and had multiple cancerous cysts. I love dogs too much to be able to be traumatized by this story again. I will never be able to bring myself to pick up this book. (I do not say this because the movie was bad or mean to animals in any way. I say this because I’m absolutely horrible at dealing with emotions.)

NINE

thesilmarillion

As much as I love J.R.R. Tolkien and his work, I don’t think I will ever actually read this book. I love middle earth and think it’s phenomenal that he created something so intricate and enticing and as much as I want to read more about that world, I don’t think I’ll actually ever pick this book up, unfortunately.

TEN

gossipgirl

When I was a sophomore in high school, my friend lent me her copy of the first Gossip Girl book. I held on to it for 4 months and read the first sentence 6 times, but never actually read the books. I don’t know why I never really even gave them a chance when so many people love them, but I gave the book back to my friend and never picked it up again. I told myself for years that I would read them eventually, but now I’ve just accepted that I probably never will.

Well, there they are. Ten books I’ll probably never read. Making this list actually wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be. Have you read any of these books and think that I should actually read them? What are some books that you’ll most likely never read or get around to reading? As always, thanks for reading and make sure you stop by and check out my Tumblr. page. Keep up on my latest reviews and follow for other bookish posts!

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Why didn’t I think of Marley and Me?! I will never read that book either. I can’t stand to read books where dogs get hurt/are abused/die, you get the gist. Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree with Finnegans Wake and A Farewell to Arms. I didn’t get the hype around James Joyce and Ernest Hemingway. And Stephenie Meyer – just no. The Silmarillion is a great book, but definitely heavy on the details. Eragon is on my to read list for a challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad in not alone in not caring for Joyce and Hemingway! And yes, I am never inclined to read anything by Stephanie Meyer ever again. I do hope to get around to The Silmarillion someday, but I just don’t know if it will actually happen. Thanks for reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

