Top Ten Tuesday

This weeks Top Ten Tuesday brought to you (and me!) by The Broke and the Bookish is Top Ten Characters that _____. Let’s see, what type of character do I usually like to go for. I don’t know that I quite enjoy the immensity of power this Top Ten Tuesday is giving me. I guess I’m going to tweak this just a smidgen and then fill in my top ten characters. This week’s Top Ten Tuesday from me is going to be Top Ten Female Characters that can Take Care of Themselves. This is a great quality I look for in many of the female characters I enjoy reading about. So, here goes another top ten on another Tuesday where the answers are in no particular order, like usual.

ONE

Katniss Everdeen.

I love, love, love The Hunger Games. It’s a series high on my to-re-read list right now. Katniss is never incapable of taking care of herself. She is a strong female lead that you are able to look up to, at least I am anyway. I love that her main concerns don’t revolve around romance in the stories. She knows what needs to be done and does it – usually. This does not mean that she lacks emotion or fear. She has both of those things as well, but she is able to use them to her advantage and is capable of working toward a better future despite her flaws. She is a real (pun intended?) character that I find so believable, thought-provoking, and admirable.

TWO

Jane Eyre.

I use Jane Eyre quite frequently in my Top Ten Tuesdays. But, how can I not when she’s such a fantastic character and has such a provoking story. Jane is fully capable of providing for herself and proves it on so many occasions. Many people misconstrue the beauty of her love story and don’t realize she was in complete control of her destiny. What a beautiful character; I love her so.

THREE

Matilda.

Although I have recently just read the book, (I don’t know how I didn’t get around to it as a child, especially since Dahl’s book The BFG meant so much to me.) I adored the movie growing up and, of course, loved the book once I finally got around to reading it. Matilda, other than the super-intelligence and mind powers, was me. I spent so much time reading as a child that I couldn’t help but admire this character who was so independent in her youth, such as taking daily trips to the library. Matilda was forced into independence, but it suited her so well.

FOUR

Elizabeth Bennet.

You knew it was coming. Ms. Bennet’s wit, poise, and intelligence is so admired by me I don’t even know what to do anymore. She is my ideal character. And, even though she is a product of the society she was written into, she rebels and holds herself so beautifully being a strong women in a man’s world. There are so many qualities that I adore in Elizabeth Bennet. I wish so dearly that she were real so I could be friends with her.

FIVE

Jo March.

Little Women is a book that hit me so hard for no reason at all except that it reflected life so beautifully that it was heartbreaking. I read this book at the exact time in my life that I needed to read it (something that happens all too rarely), and Jo was such a relatable character. She’s a tomboy who does what she wants to do and makes her aspirations in life a reality. She is a great role model, for the most part, and she deserves praise to the ends of the earth.

SIX

Sam from The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

Man, I loved this book in general, but sam was a wonderful character. All the characters were wonderful, actually. But, since I have decided to make this about female characters, I am talking about Sam right now. Granted, we only get what Charlie tells us about her, but I can tell that she is an independent character. She is flawed, and brilliant, and in control of her destiny, and I adore her.

SEVEN

Amy Dunne.

O. M. G. Amy Dunne. I am so in love with Amy Dunne I don’t even know what to do. I love everything about Flynn’s character. She is strong; she is independent; she is crazy; she gets what she wants. Amy Dunne, in my opinion, is a critique on society, and she is a phenomenal critique. I can’t even describe to you how much I love Amy Dunne. I sound like that girl in Mean Girls describing Regina Gorge. Amy Dunne is FLAWLESS. One time, she framed me for murder. It was awesome. Okay, but really, applause applause applause for Amy Dunne.

EIGHT

Margo Roth Speigleman.

Paper Towns is hands down my favorite John Green book (although I haven’t read all his yet…woops – It’s a work in progress, I swear!). I love how he makes it clear that his characters are nothing more than human beings trying to do what is best for them with what they are given and not worried about what is best for everyone else. Margo, at first, is the outline to become a typical manic pixie dream girl, but John Green flips all of that on it’s head when we find out that she is nothing more than a simple girl living for the benefit of herself. I love, love, love this character. She means so much to me.

NINE

Violet Baudelaire.

How can you not like this character? She’s smart; she likes to invent things; she’s nice; she’s caring; she’s everything that makes a fantastic role model for young girls (and any girl or anyone, really). She loves her family dearly and would do anything for her friends (within reason). She thinks independently and doesn’t rely on anyone else to get her out of a tough situation, although she knows when to welcome help. She is such a great character who can most definitely take care of herself and offers something that we can take from her.

TEN

The Narrator in The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova.

The narrator in this text is never given a name, but it is confirmed that she is female, and this girl can definitely take care of herself. Trying to describe the plot of this novel is hard, since it is such a long, complex text, but basically this girl’s father leaves her in search of her mother, who has potentially been kidnapped by Dracula many years ago. The girl finds letters addressed to her from her father and immediately takes off in search of him and her lost mother. She travels around Europe solo in search of clues and answers. It is easy to say that this is an independent girl who takes matters into her own hands. It has been awhile since I read this novel (junior year of high school, so 6 years ago for me (ahhhh!)), but I remember loving it, and I highly recommend it.

*Just a quick note. Hermione Granger was not included in this list since everyone already knows I’m part of the Harry Potter Generation and her presence in this topic goes unquestioned. If there weren’t so many other fantastic female characters I love talking about, she would have been included hands down.

So, there you have it. Another Top Ten Tuesday from me. I hope you found something that you liked. I sure enjoyed writing about all these fantastic females. As always, thanks for reading and make sure you stop by and check out my Facebook and Tumblr. pages. Keep up on my latest reviews and follow for other bookish posts! Facebook and Tumblr.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

    1. Thanks! I read you’re list, and I’ll definitely have to check out some of the wonderful ladies on it! I just got my copy of Throne of Glass in the mail today. I haven’t read it yet, but I am exceedingly excited to start it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

