Yes Please by Amy Poehler

5/5 Stars

I thought I loved Amy Poehler before, but after reading this book, I love her on a whole new level. I was so excited to read this book – it has been on my TBR since I first heard about it – and I was definitely not disappointed. I asked for this book for my last birthday (back in January) and my parents grudgingly obliged. This is definitely a book I wanted to own in all it’s beautifully bound hardcover glory. Everything about it is beautiful – the cover, the inside, the layout, the writing, everything.

This is a series of essays written by Amy Poehler telling the stories of her life so far. She writes with grace, bravery, and no fear. She is not afraid to touch on bad things as well as good, and wow is this book inspiring. A fantastic read filled with Poehler’s marvelous sense of humor. A must read, especially for young women, but definitely a good read for all.

This book made me feel as good as when I was done reading Wild by Cheryl Strayed, and I recommend it to the highest degree. (See Review of Wild Here) Amy Poehler is such a strong women and a fantastic role model. She is confident in her flaws, most of the time – like any of us, and she writes with acceptance of the person she was and has become. I loved the rawness to her work. And, even though I don’t think that she meant to be such an inspiration in writing this, she really was, at least she was for me. She tells it like it is. I never knew how hard she worked to get where she is today, and the way she persevered gave me hope and strength to keep working towards my goals in life.

As I’ve already said in the opening, this book is a thing of beauty. The layout is phenomenal and fits so well with Amy’s writing style. She inserts so many different types of writing into this book, and it works so well. She writes with honesty and that in itself is marvelous. I loved the colorful way she set off each section and all the personal pictures she includes. She says again and again how hard it was for her to write this book. “Writing is hard,” she says over and over. She even states that she almost gave up a few times. I am so thankful that she persisted, because I needed to read this book, so many people need(ed) to read this book. It is a phenomenal piece of work deserving of the highest praise I can give.

If you are a fan of Amy Poehler, you should definitely read this piece. Even if you haven’t really watched much of her work, you might be inspired to after you’ve finished. And, if you have something out for Amy Poehler because you don’t like her work, you should probably still read this. It might change your perspective of her. But, if it doesn’t, that’s fine. At least you’ll have read about a woman I adore.

As always, thanks for reading and make sure you stop by and check out my Facebook and Tumblr. pages. Keep up on my latest reviews and follow for other bookish posts! Facebook and Tumblr.

3 thoughts on “Yes Please by Amy Poehler

Leave a Reply

