A Tangle of Fates by Leslie Ann Moore

4/5 Stars

I received a free copy of this book through Goodreads. I’m usually pretty skeptical about the books I get through Goodreads Giveaways, since I have read some pretty terrible ones. But, this one was a pleasant surprise. I had never heard of Moore before, but I will definitely be checking out her other works, including the second one in this series when it comes out.

“The fates of three women. The Fates of two peoples. The fate of one planet. On the distant world of Nuetierra, four hundred years have passed since the Great War. A new society has arisen from the ashes of the old. Deanna Hernaan, daughter of the brutal Lourdessa, the Alcalde of Nue Bayona, must choose between the old way and the new, between love and power and a shaman’s vision of a destiny that seems all but impossible to achieve.” (Synopsis taken from Goodreads)

This Steampunkesque Adult Fantasy novel is one wild ride and like nothing I’ve read before, but, then again, I don’t read a lot of Adult High Fantasy, so I don’t have too much experience with this genre. Maybe I should read more of it! Anyway, moving on with this review. The plot of this story is a retelling of Snow White, and I found it completely unique. Deanna must accept a role of leadership in a world ridden with machines and injustice. She is skeptical to take on this role of power, not believing herself to be strong enough, but she will discover how strong she really is.

I felt that Moore set a good pace for the plot. It didn’t drag too much and most of it had me flipping the pages to find out what was going to happen next. I felt that her characters were well developed, even minor characters, which is something that’s rare. Moore’s writing is unique, just like her plot, and I enjoyed it. Sometimes it did get a bit flowery for me, but Moore does, overall, have a beautiful writing style.

I really don’t have any other complaints about this book. I thought the characters were realistic, believable, and relatable. I also didn’t come across any plot holes or unnecessary unanswered questions. She also kept tension going throughout the entirety, leaving off at a good place to spark enough interest for the reader to want to read the next installment. I thought Moore did a fantastic job with this novel, and I absolutely loved the Spanish flair that this book has. It made the story even more unique.

I am looking forward to reading the next books in this series and her other work. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who likes fairy tale retellings, steampunk fantasy, and/or a good fantasy novel.

As always, thanks for reading and make sure you stop by and check out my Facebook and Tumblr. pages. Keep up on my latest reviews and follow for other bookish posts! Facebook and Tumblr.

Leave a Reply

