The Ultimate Book Tag

The Ultimate Book Tag

I was tagged by the lovely Summer, check her out @xingsings, to complete The Ultimate Book Tag! I have to admit, I’m a sucker for these things, so I decided to make this one my Saturday post instead of doing a book review (sorry if that disappoints you). So, without further adieu, here goes.

1. Do you get sick while reading in the car?

It really depends for me. Sometimes yes, usually no. I do tend to get sick if I’ve been reading in the car for a while. I’m prone to motion sickness (thanks mom!), so, unfortunately, I do find myself unable to read sometimes on long car rides, but that’s okay, because checking out the scenery is always cool too.

2. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?

I’m going to rave about House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski once again. I’ve mentioned this book on so many occasions, but I just loved it so much. Danielewski’s style is like nothing I’ve ever read before. He brings a completely new layout to the table, and it worked so well.

3. Harry Potter Series or the Twilight Saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer.

Harry Potter – Absolutely. 1. Strong female characters 2. Good morals 3. J.K. Rowling is a God.

4. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is in it (besides books)?

Not typically. I usually just carry around one book with me when appropriate. I do have a ton of book bags, though, just in case I do end up needing one.

5. Do you smell your books?

For sure I do. Judge me all you want; I’m a book sniffer. I majored in Professional Writing and Publishing in College, so I’m all about the make-up of books, and you know a publishing house put a lot of money into a book when the ink smells fresh and the paper crisp. Plus, there’s nothing worse than the smell of cheap ink and paper – yuck! (Did this get too weird? Nah.)

6. Books with or without little illustrations.

I love any kind of book, but I am a sucker for ones that have illustrations.

7. What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing?

Twilight was that one for me. I liked it when I read it junior year of high school, but once I got to college and actually started branching out and reading all kinds of literature and blossoming as the feminist I have become, I realized it wasn’t the best thing young girls should be reading.

8. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!

Hm, well, it’s not really my childhood, but my pre-teen years. I had all the Harry Potter books (obviously) and had misplaced the fourth book for quite some time. It had been about a year, and I was thinking it was finally time I bite the bullet and get a new one, even though I was still hoping it would turn up. Then, it did just that. A friend of mine whom I had gotten really close with ended up finding it in her bedroom. It turns out I had lent it to her in middle school and she finally found it freshman year of high school and only realized it was mine because my mom had written my name and phone number inside the front cover. If that’s not a funny story, I don’t know what is.

9. What is the tinniest book on your shelf?

That would be The Princess by Alfred Lord Tennyson. It’s the cutest little thing that has gold pages. I found it at Half Price Books for $6. I couldn’t pass it up. Just look:

 IMG_0949

  10. What is the thickest book on your shelf?

The Barnes and Noble Classic Series books I own. (Edgar Allan Poe’s Complete Works, Shakespeare’s Complete Works, H.G. Wells Seven Novels, The Complete Sherlock Holmes, Star Wars, and I also have a book of some of Charles Dickens’ most popular works (not BN Classic Series))

11. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?

Being an author is literally my only aspiration in life. I’ve already had two poems published, but I’m working on a novel and have so many ideas flowing inside me. I love writing. It is my ultimate passion.

12. When did you get into reading?

I’ve always been into reading. My mom read to me when I was young, and I started reading chapter books rapidly after learning how to read. I spent lots of time at the library as a kid and was always reading above and beyond what was required of me.

13. What is your favorite classic book?

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott. I bawled like a baby during that novel for no reason other than that it was so beautiful and relatable and real.

14. In school what was your best subject Language Arts/English?

What exactly is this trying to ask me? My best subject has always been English. I have a very analytical mind so being able to talk about a text for hours and argue points about them have never been hard for me, right along with cranking out opinionated papers. My interest in all this also makes grammar effortless for me as well as understanding what all goes into publishing. I hope? this answered the question.

15. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated, what would you do?

I would thank the person for their efforts, after all, I’ve read so many books, it’s hard for others to know/remember what I’ve all read and what I like. It’s the thought that counts. But, then I would return the book where they got it and buy one I really wanted. That way their money still goes to good use in getting me something I love.

(Apparently Question 16 was supposed to be here, but now it’s disappeared?)

OH NO! “Can we panic now?”

17. What is a bad habit you always do (besides rambling) while blogging?

I always get ahead of myself. When I first started out, I would get so excited to get everything posted because I love talking about books and what I think about books. This was causing me to have multiple grammatical errors in my posts, which is not like me. I’m a good editor, so these errors shouldn’t be happening. I’ve worked to write my posts farther in advance now, so I have more time for proofing, but it’s still hard to contain my excitement. I love my followers, and I love getting new reading material out to them. (Yes, all of you; I love all of you lovely readers!)

18. What is your favorite word?

Ominous and Gumption

19. Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?

I’m a TOTAL nerd. Welcome to fangirl central.

20. Vampires or Fairies? Why?

Vampires have always been my second favorite monster – I’m a sucker for zombies. But it’s funny that these are the two creatures to choose between because I’m currently working on a trilogy that involves a war between vampires and fairies. Is this a sign? I think it’s a sign.

21. Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?

Angels. But not like the perfect, biblical type, like the bitter, rebellion biblical type. They’re mysterious.

22. Spirits or Werewolves? Why?

Spirits. I’m a sucker for a good haunting.

23. Zombies or Vampires? Why?

ZOMBIES. Because I like them. A lot. If you can’t tell. I don’t know what it is about them. I’ve been a fan of zombies since like middle school. They’re my favorite. That’s why.

24. Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?

These are about equal for me on having to choose. How about we start making strong, independent female characters who don’t need no love triangle or girls who have better things to get done than that boy obsessing about them from over the fence the new trend? Not that there’s anything wrong with these two things in MODERATION, but I think it’s time to start branching out a bit more.

25. And finally: Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?

Action packed for sure! I’m a sucker for action. I’m the same with films. Given the choice between a rom com and an action movie – like Die Hard – I would choose Die Hard. Unless, The Princess Bride is an option (since that’s my favorite movie). Okay, but we’re talking about books and I’ve started talking about movies. I guess the end of this list came at just the right time. Who knows what I would have started talking about in the next question.

Well, I heartily enjoyed that; I hope you all did too! If not, that’s fine, and I’m sorry. After Top Ten Tuesday, I’ll post a regular review next Thursday! Browse through some of my older posts if you’re looking for something to read and not a list of questions I answered about myself 🙂

I Tag:

Elaine @mylittlebrownnotebook

Evie @justanotherbelle

5 thoughts on “The Ultimate Book Tag

  1. Oh my goodness, loved your thorough answers! And I think Twilight has been a popular one for 7. XD And another funny thing is that 8 seems to commonly have HP involved. And why have I never notice that you’re a writer, I mean it makes perfect sense! And your response to 17 totally describes me. After reading other posts in response to this tag… I realized I totally butchered the numbering. :/ Anyway, thanks for participating in the tag, your answers were amusing! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the great comment! And it’s fine that you butchered the numbers – it happens haha. Thanks for tagging me. I really enjoyed answering these!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

