I Could Chew On This by Francesco Marciuliano

2/5 Stars

I was so excited to find this book at Barnes & Noble in their bargain section, because I had been wanting to read it for awhile. So, I figured I would buy it, since it appeared to be the kind of book that I would want to keep, being the avid dog lover I am. I usually enjoy stories about dogs even if they’re mediocre, so I thought I would heartily enjoy this one. Unfortunately, I discovered why this short, little book was in the bargain section.

This is a book of poems written from a dog’s perspective. Marciuliano makes attempts at painting a heartwarming message from a person’s beloved pet, from chewing on something to taking a trip to the dog park. He includes pictures of adorable pups that usually correspond with the meaning of the poem they are next to. This is a quick read meant for dog lovers.

Even with this being a rapid little read, I found it hard to finish. I found this book poorly put together and lacking in many ways. These poems are not really endearing and didn’t have the effect on me that I wanted them to have. I found myself smiling while reading maybe 4 of the poems, but found myself skimming just to finish the rest of them. I wanted this so much to be a cute little book that I would cherish as a significant part of my bookshelf, but I will not even be keeping it on my bookshelf. Marciuliano should have worked harder and invested more time in his work. I was not impressed at all.

Marciuliano also wrote I could Pee on This. That one is the same type of book about cats and came before this little poem book about dogs. I can’t say that I am eager to read it anymore (It was on my reading list, but I took it off.), especially after being so disappointed with this one. I wouldn’t recommend this book. Don’t waste your time on it. The adorable pictures of dogs definitely to not make up for the poor quality poetry.

Thanks for reading and make sure you stop by and check out my Facebook and Tumblr. pages. Keep up on my latest reviews and follow for other bookish posts! Facebook and Tumblr.

Leave a Reply

