Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh

5/5 Stars

I’m sure everyone has at least heard of Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh, but I have only recently opened these glorious pages. If you haven’t heard of this book, I’m sure you still recognize Brosh’s internet famous main character illustration. Brosh started to become popular by drawing illustrations for her blog and narrating them. This book encompasses all the great things about her blog, in book form. So, open them and enjoy what Brosh lays out for her readers: Unfortunate Situations, Flawed Coping Mechanisms, Mayhem, and Other Things That Happened.

Now, here’s a short review of what made this book so amazing. First, I loved the way everything was laid out. The colorful appearance makes the pages so much better and is an exceptionally aesthetically pleasing way to offset each chapter. Everything about the layout of this book is glorious and fits the story very nicely. Second, the writing is superb, yet simple. You are able to connect and relate to her through the words she puts down on paper. Brosh is able to switch from telling funny upbeat stories to talking about serious mental health issues, focussing on depression and anxiety, without missing a step. She puts a nice spin on and openly talks about what her life has been like without sugarcoating anything, although slightly exaggerating it all (hence the title – ha!). The third thing I loved so much was the blatant honesty that Brosh writes with. This book is raw, beautiful, and hilarious. If I could give this book more than five stars, I would. Heck, I would give it ALL the stars.

all the things

I can honestly say that there wasn’t one thing I didn’t like about the words and illustrations. Also, I noticed that a second book by Brosh will be released (hopefully!) sometime later this year. As of right now on Goodreads it is simply titled Book 2 and doesn’t have cover art yet. It’s safe to say I’m a bit overexcited about this next installment! So, if you haven’t read Hyperbole and a Half yet, get your hands on a copy and prepare yourself to fall in love. Plus, this is a super quick read! I promise it won’t take up much of your time and will be well worthwhile.

Thanks for reading and make sure you stop by and check out my Facebook and Tumblr. pages. Keep up on my latest reviews and follow for other bookish posts!

3 thoughts on “Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh

Leave a Reply

