Liebster Award

I was nominated for this award by evconvent. Thank you so much for the nomination!

This award is a chain award that was created by bloggers and passed on to create connections to make friends in the blogging community.

Here are the rules:

  1. Thank and link the person who nominated you.
  2. Answer the questions given by the nominator.
  3. Nominate 11 other bloggers who have less than 200 followers and link them.
  4. Create 11 new questions for the nominees to answer.
  5. Notify all nominees via social media/blogs.

Here are E.V. Convent’s questions for me:

  1. If you could pick any fantasy World to live in, which would it be?

This is such a tough question for me. It is so hard to pick just one. But, I think I will have to say The Wizarding World of Harry Potter for this answer. I can’t help it. I am part of the Harry Potter generation, and it has been such a big part of my life; how could I not pick the fantasy world that I’ve already spent so many years exploring? Also, there’s magic. Imagine the possibilities.

  1. What’s your favorite fairy tale?

Oh man, this is a tough one. I have such a love-hate-push-pull relationship with fairytales. Having grown up with Disney’s version of fairytales and also having read all Grimm’s Fairytales, many of Hans Christian Anderson’s, and many other fairytale variations (such as The Bloody Chamber), it is so hard to fully commit to one. (Can I just say I loved what Into the Woods did with the fairytales!) I guess, though, I’m going to go with what has always been my favorite: Disney’s Beauty and the Beast. What’s not to love about this horrible story of Stockholm Syndrome? Okay, but all joking aside, I love Belle and her character and the underlying message of the story. She is the Disney Princess I can relate to the most, and it will always be a favorite of mine.

  1. What’s your favorite breakfast food?

An easy question! Eggs Benedict.

  1. What places are on your travel bucket list?

Another pretty easy one! Everywhere! I love to travel. It’s a huge part of who I am. I’ve been to 32 of the 50 states, Canada, Italy, and Spain. To narrow down my answer a bit, here are a few places that are, in order, high on my list: England, New Zealand, Ireland, and France.

  1. What is your favorite TV show?

This is as torturous as asking me what my favorite book is! Ah! So, I’m going to have to list a few for this answer. Doctor Who; The Walking Dead; Star Trek The Original Series (We are sorry to see you go Leonard Nimoy.); The Simpsons; Supernatural (Whose shirt I am currently rocking atm); Law & Oder (both the original and SVU); and, this list wouldn’t be complete without, F.R.I.E.N.D.S.

  1. If you could eat dinner with anyone, dead or alive, who would you choose?

I think I would pick William Shakespeare. This man has been and always will be a fascinating mystery to me. We can speculate on so much, but I want to know who this man really was. I want to know him personally inside and out. So often he is dismissed as either too formal or too informal, but to me he’s a perfect medium between the two. I am fascinated by this man’s plays as well as his life. Yes, if I were to have dinner with anyone, it would be this bard. There is so much I want to know. Taking a class on him at University didn’t help my curiosity, only strengthened it.

  1. If you were going on a road trip tomorrow, where would you go and who would be your co-pilot?

I think if I were to leave on a road trip tomorrow I would be heading to famous libraries and bookstores as well as stopping to see relevant author landmarks in between. This has been a trip I’ve wanted to do for awhile. With the technology we have readily available, it could definitely be a fantastic spur of the moment trip. I think my co-pilot would be my friend April. We are both book enthusiasts! As an English Major, this is my dream trip.

  1. What book do you like that none of your friends like?

I don’t have a very large group of close friends, so I don’t think I’ve really come across a book I love that they don’t. We’re all pretty similar and don’t disagree on much, so there is no book that’s sticking out to me right now.

  1. If you won the lottery, what would be the first thing that you would do?

Move to a glorious, horribly overpopulated, wonderful city.

  1. Do you have a hero? Who is it and why?

I don’t have just one hero. I have many heroes. By this I mean that I find a little bit of heroics in everything that I see, everything that I read, and everyone that I know. My brain is exceptionally analytical. I am fascinated by the human condition and do what I can to find that one heroic piece of a person. It would be too devastating to have one hero and have them fail you. I could never handle that. But if you accept that a person can fail you, it is easy to pick out the one piece of a person that makes them a hero and that, in turn, makes it easier to love their imperfections. It is easy to admire someone on a pedestal, but it is hard to love someone for who they are.  As J.K. Rowling taught me, “We’ve all got both light and dark inside us. What matters is the part we choose to act on.”

  1. If you could be friends with a fictional character, who would it be?

Obviously there are many fictional characters I would love to befriend – if only they actually existed! But, if I had to choose one, I think I would have to go with Elizabeth Bennet. I have read Pride and Prejudice 3 times and grow to love her more and more each time. I think if I were to meet her in a class or at work we would be fast friends. She is witty, sarcastic, and a bit bitter. She loves to read. She has her issues with the patriarchy. She is intellectual. Essentially her and I are the same person. It would be a perfect friendship.

Now, here are my 11 questions:

1. Do you have an author whose books you buy without even reading the synopsis?

2. Where is your favorite place to read?

3. What is your favorite type of weather?

4. What is your favorite artistic outlet?

5. What title have you read the most times?

6. What is your favorite social media platform to talk about books on?

7. What character you’ve read about do you admire most?

8. What is your favorite literature genre?

9. Do you have a book-inspired trip you want to make, or, if not a book, any other trip that’s been inspired by something fictional?

10. Where is your favorite place to get coffee (or if you don’t drink coffee, any hot drink you love)?

11. What fictional TV world would you choose to live in and/or who/what character would you want to live there with?

I nominate:

swimmingthroughliterature

eatbooksforbreakfast

thebookbrief

xingsings

bookshopped

emilymullaswilson

bestbooksofalltimeblog

bongbongbooks

subduedflamboyance

afeministview

ofcuriousminds

Leave a Reply

