The Restaurant at the end of the Universe (Guide #2) by Douglas Adams

5/5 Stars

So, anyone who keeps up with my reviews will know that my first blog post of 2015 was of Douglas Adams’ The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. Well, my second review of the year is of the second book in this series – The Restaurant at the end of the World. This review, however, is going to be quite a bit shorter than the one of the first installment in the series. This is simply because I was just as impressed with this novel as with the first one and have all the same great things to say about this one. I’m always skeptical when it comes to reading the second book in a series when I absolutely loved the first one because, more often than not, the sequel never measures up. But, Adams took me to the restaurant at the end of the universe and I loved every moment of it.

Therefore, rejoin the friends you’ve made in the first novel and follow along with them as they embark on another adventure all while still trying to figure out what the ultimate question to the universe is. Jump aboard the Heart of Gold” and see what awaits.

Just a quick touch on the topics I discussed in my first review. Adams’ writing is still just as phenomenal in this novel as in the first one. He doesn’t skimp on story or even more character development on the ones we, or at least I, have already come to love. There is much to be enjoyed in what unfolds for each character and the story as a whole in this short novel. Adams’ still writes an easy and whimsical read that is hard to put down. This man knows how to draw his readers into a story. The humor is just as superb as the first installment. It’s so fantastic; I can’t help myself for continuing to rave over this series. I can’t remember the last time I read a book that caused me to smile from ear to ear from the very beginning to the very end. My highlighter would have been out of ink by the end of this glorious book.

I still cannot believe that it has taken me this long to pick up this series. I wish I would have read it earlier so that this could be my second time through. I can only guess that there are so many more connections that I could be making. I know it’s only my first time through and that I’m only on the second book, but I CAN NOT wait to read this series again in the future. So, in my opinion, jump on this bandwagon immediately if you haven’t already.

Here is a link to my review of the first installment to the Hitchhiker’s Guide series: https://ashlyreads.wordpress.com/2015/01/05/the-hitchhikers-guide-to-the-galaxy-guide-1-by-douglas-adams/

Thanks for reading and make sure you stop by and check out my Facebook page. Keep up on my latest reviews and follow for other bookish posts! –https://www.facebook.com/dreamingthroughliterature

3 thoughts on “The Restaurant at the end of the Universe (Guide #2) by Douglas Adams

Leave a Reply

