The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (Guide #1) by Douglas Adams

5/5 Stars

So, this book. This book was nothing I was expecting and exponentially better than anything I had pictured it to be. I had no idea what to expect when I opened to the first page of this novel. I, of course, had heard many of things about this series, and, most of it has all been feedback of good to phenomenal. I am happy to say that I fell in the in phenomenal category. This book started out as a five-star book, had a five-star middle, and ended as a five-star book. Giving this book the highest rating I possibly could wasn’t even a little bit of a hard decision.

Now, what can I tell you that this book is really about? I can honestly say that The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy cannot be easily explained. I now know why I didn’t really know what I was getting myself into because I’m not sure how to write a clear synopsis about the actual plot of this novel. But, here’s my best effort. Join a human, Arthur, as he travels through space with some new intergalactic friends as they trek through the galaxy after planet earth has been destroyed by the revolting Vogons to make room for a space bypass. Little does Arthur know what he is about to find out about earth and the original reason it was created. After all, the answer to the question of life and what not is 42. Be prepared for one wild ride. And, make sure you don’t forget your towel!

First off, I’m going to start with the writing. Douglas Adams is an extraordinary writer. The sentences that this man creates are beautiful, and extravagant, and crazy, and absolutely wonderful. This is one smart man and boy was he meant to write science fiction. He creates a world that is so utterly ridiculous but you can’t help but believe everything that he is putting down into type. His writing is also fun. If I had to describe this novel in one word, that word would hands down be “fun.” There is no way you can’t help but love this man’s quirky sense of writing, and his fun story about travelling the galaxy.

The story that is told, as I’ve already briefly touched on, is so fantastic; I immediately fell in love. This novel (and I’m sure the rest of them!) is a new favorite of mine and has easily climbed the ladder to the books I hold most high, in my own opinion of course. Along with this fantastic story Adams weaves together, there are fantastically odd, eccentric, and delightful characters that make this story even better. It was so easy to like these characters from the get-go. Although I don’t have them all pegged down yet, I love them anyway.

But now, what is it that really makes this story so whimsical? It’s definitely the humor. This novel is nothing but humor. I found myself smiling and even laughing out loud throughout this entire read. The humor that Adams writes with is probably one of the main things (along with how short the novels are) that makes this such a quick, easy, and, most importantly, enjoyable read. I know that all this review has been is me saying how much I loved this book and basically fangirling…a lot…, but, if you haven’t read it, you just don’t understand how good this book is! Usually when I read I like to keep a pen and a highlighter easily accessible because (some of you may cringe at what I say next but oh well) I love to highlight favorite lines and even writing notes in the margins occasionally. But, I didn’t even bother to do that here because if I did, the entire novel would be highlighted from beginning to end. There are so many magnificent lines that I couldn’t possibly just pick a few that stood out to me. There was nothing unnecessary in this novel, absolutely nothing at all. I loved every word.

So, you may be asking yourself what kind of humor this novel contains that has me praising it to the ends of the galaxy. Well, it has the kind of humor that makes fun of the human race but in such a way that it makes the reader, us, easily nod in agreement and laugh at ourselves along with the alien characters. Adams is not afraid to point out the flaws that we have, but makes light of them in the most pleasant way that will give anyone with a funny bone, especially (if you’re like me) an exceedingly sarcastic funny bone, a good laugh, because he brings them to life in the most outrageous manner and in the most outlandish settings that you can’t help but say, yea, that’s true and it’s definitely funny. Another great tool that he employs in creating this sense of humor the novel is based on is irony. There were so many times I couldn’t help but scream in my head, “THE IRONY, OH, THE IRONY.” And, believe me, said irony is superb.

So, incase you’re still unconvinced if you should read this novel, read it. Definitely read this novel. Absolutely 100% read this novel. I had a copy of the first book in the series at home, but after finishing that, the next time I was at Barnes & Noble (which wasn’t long at all – I had some giftcards to spend!) I picked up the complete collection. If you, like me, have been debating about this novel or kept insisting to yourself (and others) that you’d get around to it, get around to it. You will not be disappointed.

Thanks for reading and make sure you stop by and check out my Facebook page. Keep up on my latest reviews and follow for other bookish posts! –https://www.facebook.com/dreamingthroughliterature

3 thoughts on “The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (Guide #1) by Douglas Adams

Leave a Reply

